Times Have Changed

Every morning, as I turn the pages of the newspaper, I’m greeted by the smiling visage of a morning news anchor of a competing station.  She’s beaming, and why wouldn’t she be?  She’s holding wads of cash in both hands.

She and Chuck Woolery (a member of the American TV Game Show Hall of Fame, according to his Wikipedia page) are promoting a “Watch and Win” contest. 

There is nothing unusual at all about television station contests.  There is, however, something unusual about news anchors participating in the promotion.  And there is something highly unusual about news anchors holding big cash prizes.  As in, verboten.

Still, to give the benefit of the doubt, maybe time has passed me by.  Maybe I’m looking at the future of the profession.  (Old media.  Must change.  Must think outside the box.)

So while I cannot take it upon myself to offer you cash to watch me on television, I can offer you something to read this blog, which, unlike the television station, is mine, all mine.

How about…a slice of cheese!   I just opened the fridge, and there it is.  Good cheese.  Sorrento® brand cheddar.  Read this blog and win a slice of cheese until supplies run out!

Maybe it’s OK to do this.  I think not.  Either way, time’s up.  I made a sandwich to take to work.  No more cheese. 

Thanks for reading, though.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Times Have Changed

  1. doug says:

    i’m tempted. will i actually get the cheese, or just a 1 in 1,000 chance for the cheese with a drawing coming up soon at a promotional event in the mall?

  2. andrewpergam says:

    Actually, I would just love an autographed 8×10 of that photo. It hits the jackpot, for me.

  3. Bruce b says:

    Gerry,

    You obviously have sold your morals to the people on your sweatshirt. The cheese is only a ploy to gain attention for them. Your subliminal message “it is as easy as a piece of cheese” doesn’t fool anybody. I can’t believe that you have sold your readership (not viewers) down the river. What will be next, holding money up on some newspaper website? In all seriousness, don’t sell out to the next generation of sensationalism. While you may be from the school of a different generation ( I am guessing), it does not mean that it a school of incorrectness. While I may fumble over my words, I think you may be able to see what I am saying. Today, even repeating this still sounds uncomfortable to me, but I have to admit that they may have been onto something. “Remember what your parents taught you/us”.

  4. Cat says:

    It takes someone special to make me laugh these days.
    You always put a smile on my face, but this picture and article was a real, honest to goodness LOL// as they say.
    You ended my day on such a high note, I thank you.
    FYI, I’d watch you even without the cheese sandwich, 😀

    Say goodnight Gerry…..

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Oh, NOT cheese!

  6. hendu says:

    I always thought you were above that kind of free giveaway. What kind of news anchor have you become? By giving away this cheese aren’t you caving in to the pro chees lobbyists? How can you stay un-biased now when reporting on various national and local cheese issues? This is truly a sad day in journalism. I must find somewhere else to get my cheese news. Thanks Mr. Brooks for ruining my day with this. For Shame!!

  7. pete says:

    that picture would be my new windows wallpaper on my work pc… if i had one…

  8. Steve L says:

    What a cheesey post! Can’t believe I just wrote that.

  9. Wendy says:

    Drat! Oh well…instead of a smile last night, I can start the day with a chuckle. Your point is well taken, Gerry. I’m proud of you for maintaining your principals and keeping that cheese for a sammich. If it’s cheese now…does that mean cheesecake is next? I’m shuddering to think of what that might mean! Have a good one!

  10. Gerry's Mentor says:

    At least you didn’t accuse that other anchor of having anything to do with journalism. That horse is long out of the barn on Broad Street.

  11. Linda says:

    Just completed a messy ride to work (why do people forget how to drive when the first snowflakes fall?). The first thing I do when I turn on my computer is check your blog for what I might have missed over the weekend (I’m computer free on weekends). A smile and a chuckle is a great way to start off this Monday morning!

  12. Steve says:

    Amen from us old timers!

  13. Two halves. Who cut the cheese?

    And this photo looks disturbingly like my Facebook profile pic. In which I am wearing a baseball cap and a tee shirt, standing in front of the exact kind of white door, and holding something up ( A sign, not cheese )

  14. Kevin says:

    looks like a proof of life photo, what’s the date on the cheese?

  15. Pingback: Thank You Gerry – We Were Wondering About That Too « The Laurel

  16. J A Scott says:

    My initial reaction was, “Mmmmm…. cheese!”

    On the other hand, I couldn’t help but wonder if you happened to see the 11/07/10 Sunday NY Times front-page article, “While Warning About Fat, U.S. Pushes Cheese Sales.” I found this article to be more than a bit frightening….

    If any of you are interested, here’s a link: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/07/us/07fat.html?emc=eta1 (sorry it’s a cut-and-paste link; couldn’t figure out how to do a “real” one).

  17. Paul says:

    Cheese, nah. A McRib Sandwich and you’ve got yourself a deal. Thanks for keeping everyone on their toes, Gerry!

  18. Ann Nyberg says:

    You know what? I’ll take the cheese, please!

  19. Geno says:

    Cheeeeese. Yummmmm! I’ll follow you anywhere (with apologies to Homer Simpson).

Leave a comment