Speaking of Chuck Woolery…

Did you know he was the original host of Wheel of Fortune?  He made the mistake of pushing Merv Griffin a little too hard on contract negotiations, and was banished to a life of Love Connection.  (Those of us who worked at WPOP when Merv owned the station learned that Merv would only give so much.)

Merv replaced Woolery with a weatherman named Pat Sajak, who seems to have done just fine.  And in case you haven’t seen this, on Friday, a contestant solved a 27-letter phrase with just one letter and an apostrophe on the board.

Sajak’s reaction is great, but I really love the expression of the contestant on the left of the screen.  He looks like he got kicked where it hurts, and never saw it coming.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Speaking of Chuck Woolery…

  1. Linda says:

    I really hate when someone brags…….but many years ago (maybe 10 or more), I was watching Wheel of Fortune with my daughters and the puzzle came up – “phrase” – and before the contestant even spun the wheel, I came up with “In a nutshell” and I was right! Many months later, the show was rerun (I didn’t recognize it) – and I couldn’t figure the puzzle out until the contestant solved it! Go figure.

  2. Linda says:

    Li’l Em-Kel – I don’t know if that’s good or bad! It’s been a 12 hour work day and my mind is done. 3 more minutes, though, and I’m headed home!

  3. pete says:

    i’ll be back in 2 and 2.

  4. bob says:

    No one will know what this is about but two people said to me sat night that they thought Al Terzi had more hair…and one guy said he voted for you against Joe Courtney. You have nice friends…at least they can last past 10…they closed the place and we all chatted outside until my own staff locked me out.

    I rock Jeopardy but am lost on WofFortune.

    • Gerry says:

      Ha! To bring everyone into the loop we had a mini-reunion of some NBC CT folks Saturday night at Bob’s restaurant in Manchester. It’s called Mulberry Street, and it is gooooooooood.

  5. Shar says:

    I had told my boyfriend last night that Chuck Woolery was the host of Wheel of Fortune, but he didn’t believe me. I just read him your blog and laughed.

    I thought there had been another host before Pat Sajeck though. I don’t remember his name, but he had committed suicide.

  6. Bill says:

    Edd “Kookie” Byrnes hosted the two Wheel of Fortune pilots in the early 70s, but NBC would not accept Byrnes when they bought the show for daytime airing. Byrnes wrote about this in his autobiography.

Leave a Reply

