Roger and Out

 “I never took HGH or Steroids. And I did not lie to Congress. I look forward to challenging the Governments accusations, and hope people will keep an open mind until trial.” 

So said Roger Clemens on Twitter.  The Roger Clemens who has been indicted by a federal grand jury.  Yes, that Roger Clemens.

I’d say it’s the American way to keep an open mind, but I’m over Roger Clemens.  Guilty, innocent, whatever, Rocket.  Thanks for the memories in Boston.  See ya.

McCown with Carolina Panthers, 8.17.09

If I’m going to adopt an athlete to cheer for, I believe I’ll go with one Josh McCown.  I was vaguely familiar with McCown as a journeyman NFL quarterback, and I was aware he’d signed with the Hartford Colonials of the United Football League.  And that was pretty much it until I read his interview with Paul Doyle in the Courant.

Apparently, McCown had received an offer from the Chicago Bears to join them as a backup QB.  But he’d made a promise to coach Chris Palmer and the Colonials.

“I want to stick to my word. To me, that’s more important than money or anything like that. It wasn’t worth it for me.”

Let’s briefly review.  One Josh McCown passed on an opportunity to be a Chicago Bear in order to be a Hartford Colonial.  He told Paul Doyle he can learn from Palmer.

This is a guy I can root for.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roger and Out

  1. I think it’s great the guys like to be near home!

  2. Beckie says:

    And THAT’S the example I want for my child! Thumbs up to Josh!

    RE: Roger Clemmens—-In the words of Judge Marilyn Millian, “I wouldn’t believe him if his tongue came notarized.” Met him when he was with the NB Red Sox back in the day. He was rude and arrogant.

  3. Scott says:

    It’s quite refreshing to see a professional athlete choose his word over the money. I think it probably has something to do with his upbringing (and the fact he was already in the NFL).

    As for Mr. Clemens. He was my favorite Red Sox player when he played (him and Dwight Evans – which I inherited from my dad). I like Roger so much that when I got $20 for my birthday when I was a kid, we went down to the card store and I bought his rookie card. It was going to be valuable when he made the HoF I thought. I haven’t looked, but I assume his rookie card value has dropped faster and further than Enron’s stock. Doh! And people wonder why I can’t stand professional baseball anymore. This is one of the reasons (untrustworthy players). The length of games and price to go to games is another.

  4. Mary says:

    I wish only good things happen for Josh, his actions should be the rule not the exception. As for the ex RedSox, I wouldn’t waste my time commenting. Have a great weekend.

  5. Cat says:

    Being a Red Sox fan myself, I would have hoped Mr. Clemmens would have gone away, very far away by now, but I see we will be wasting more monies and time on him and his trial. I’d rather watch paint dry, as they say…

    Time for football guys, I’m so happy to see my Eagles , “McNabb free” this season.
    I think Kolb, once he gets into his groove, will be a great asset.
    Also ,glad that Hank Baskett is back, lets hope he can hang onto the ball, ok Hank?..
    Now, if someone could please tell them the game has started and they can get scoring anytime now… I’d be happy.. : (
    Have a good weekend Gerry,

Leave a comment