As Kenny Rogers Sings “Through The Years”…

So Ger, whaddaya make of Janet Peckinpaugh running for Congress?
Hey, glad you asked!

The way we were. Separated by a suit.

Janet (it’s going to be strange referring to her as “Peckinpaugh” on the air) left television news in December, 2006 after stretches at, in order, Channels 8, 3, and 30.

This is the perfect prelude to a political run, because three of the major Connecticut television stations can run their own file tape of the candidate, and refer to her as “Former Channel (fill in the blank) news anchor Janet Peckinpaugh…” 

You can see the early ’80s Janet on WTNH, the late ’80s to ’90s Janet on WFSB, and the mid ’90s to mid ’00s Janet on NBC Connecticut. 

WTIC will have to fend for themselves.

 

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in News, People, Politics, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to As Kenny Rogers Sings “Through The Years”…

  1. Beckie says:

    I had to follow your link to see if she reallly was running. In the words of John McEnroe “You’ve GOT to be kidding me!”

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    It’s clear from the picture that the three male hands shown are molded, plaster-of-Paris fakes.

  3. rick says:

    Gerry, It almost looks like a prom picture. That couldnt be Al Terzi in the middle, Could it?
    I almost forget what you looked like with a ‘stash’

  4. Kevin says:

    judging by those meatpaws, I’m guessing thats Pat Sheehan in the middle, Terzi never struck me as being a big guy.

  5. Cat says:

    I was surprised when I heard the news of Janet.
    Sorry but was never a fan, especially after, well, you know.

    With the way some act in Washington, could be a comfortable stop.

    I doubt there willl be a win.

  6. T Bone says:

    Don’t you have to know issues or is this a Palin wannabe?
    Can she see Nantucket from her house?

  7. Gerry says:

    Because I’ll be reporting on Janet’s candidacy, I’m Switzerland.

    I will say I don’t remember her being attached to the GOP in any way, but we haven’t been in touch, and people change.

    As for the picture, we co-hosted a charity event in the early 80’s, and the man in the middle belonged to the organization. I didn’t remember who he was, so I clicked off his head.

  8. stratos says:

    Good for her… she is certainly to young too retire
    Gerry where is that picture from

  9. You look a little like Lyle Waggoner there!

  10. Dee says:

    So the truth finally shows itself – moving from one news organization to another didn’t work because the Peckinpauh was not comfortable with the “liberal” press! Too bad Fox News wasn’t around back in the day!

  11. I have at least four missing head jokes I want to use. But I still have three days left on THIS detention. And I have a swell Janet joke having to do with the seat she’s seeking. But I’m not THAT awful.

  12. Gayle King was on Morning Joe this morning, I wonder what she’s running for, and…

    ( Sound of ruler slamming knuckles is heard )

  13. pete says:

    i’m sure she’ll be just as respected by the politicians as she was by her peers in the newsroom… … …

Leave a comment