I Voted Today!

elex day 005

Did you?

Why is it that the act of voting isn’t complete until you get the little sticker on the way out the door?

It’s all local today, which may not make for dramatic television, but is my favorite kind of Election Day.  We’re casting ballots on sewers, playgrounds, schools, open land, our neighbors.  Outside many polling places you can shake hands and chat with the people who want your vote. 

I could go on, but I wouldn’t do a better job than Jason Hendry, who directs our morning news programs, did in his blog today.

I have been asked why I don’t wear an American flag pin on my lapel.  Jay Leno does.  So does Jim Nantz.  The reason is, I don’t want to.  The only time I wore a lapel pin was when the local TV stations made their anchors and reporters wear them, just in case you weren’t sure which station you were watching.  And I didn’t want to wear them, either.

I know I’m a proud American.  I’m sure you are too.  And I think we wear it especially well on days like today.  Just not on my lapel.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, News, People, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Voted Today!

  1. Pingback: On Voting and Anchors Wearing Flag Pins « The Laurel

  2. Rick D says:

    Gerry, I voted in West Hartford early in the evening. Usually I can count on seeing multiple signs and people representing people who really want my vote. On this night not one sign, not one person outside and I was the only person in the usually busy voting location. How sad.

  3. RBM says:

    How far we’ve come from the days when anchors wore the channel number as a pin on their lapel to remind viewers what station they were watching. Nowadays, stations show the continuous bug in the lower right corner to remind viewers what state they’re living in! (NBC Connecticut)

    It’s too bad that the marketing department doesn’t realize how annoying that bug is to the audience.

    As for flag lapels, I couldn’t agree with you more. Patriotism goes well beyond wearing a piece of jewelry.

Leave a comment