The Courant’s 2-for-1 Sale

Please open your major metropolitan daily to page B3 (although your edition could differ from mine.)  Thank you.

scan0001I save the sports section for last to linger over the box scores and Dom Amore’s fine baseball coverage.  Today there was no Dom Amore, but two Red Sox articles by Adam Kilgore of the Boston Globe.  OK, no problem.

But wait, there was a problem.  It was the same article under two different headlines.  “Rookie Spoils Debut” and “Experience Reminds Smoltz Not To Worry” were one and the same.

I know I live in a glass house when it comes to media criticism.  I know we’re all working shorthanded.  I know most of the paper’s sports resources are in Cromwell.  But really, how does this happen?

It’s worth repeating that I’m rooting for the Courant’s survival, even though they now “sleep with the enemy,” Channel 61.  A healthy Courant is good for all of us.  I’m even looking forward to next week when the paper puts its banner back where it belongs:  at the top, horizontal.  Hey, I’m a paying customer!

But you’ve gotta make your free throws.  And today, they threw up bricks for the Red Sox coverage.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, News, Noticed, Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Courant’s 2-for-1 Sale

  1. Jerry Beach says:

    Hey Gerry, long-time viewer, first-time emailer. I live in New York now, but I watched you all the time on Channel 3 while growing up and still say your Brooks File about how men are never satisfied with how they mow the lawn was the funniest thing I’ve ever seen on Connecticut TV.

    A friend of mine sent me your blog today about the Courant running the same Globe Sox story on page 3. Couldn’t agree more with your take. It’s heartbreaking how a once-great newspaper is being picked apart like a days-old Thanksgiving turkey. I keep hoping the tide will somehow reverse, but I fear the day is near when the Courant will be no more.

    Got a chance to read thru the rest of the blog and really enjoyed it. Keep up the great work and I’ll make sure the family TV is tuned to WVIT next time I’m in town!

    Jerry

  2. Gerry says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Jerry.

    I really want to see the paper succeed, because I know there are a lot of good people there working their butts off.
    It just makes me nuts when I see something like that happen.

  3. Bud says:

    Gerry, I noticed all of this too, and concur with your comments. Hopefully, the Courant will not downsize sports any further. Enough damage has been done to the paper as a whole already. Enjoy 30 news with all of you. Best to Joanne too if you ever see her.

Leave a comment