Hell Froze Over

As news of Michael Jackson’s collapse and death started to break Thursday, something unusual unprecedented happened to me.

I went to tmz.com to see what they had.  And they had a lot.  As a matter of fact, they broke the news of his death, well before the traditional media outlets did.

I have been aware of TMZ,  the syndicated companion television show, and founder Harvey Levin for some time.   Having little interest in the lives of celebrities, I had never visited the web site or seen the show.  But I knew the site had an uncanny record of accuracy in the celeb/gossip field, so there I was, on the air, quoting tmz.com.

It was a rite of passage of sorts.  A reluctant acceptance of a non-traditional source of information (not that I took it as gospel). 

And when I got off the air, I was greeted by grinning news managers.  “Hell froze over,” they said.  “Gerry Brooks quoted tmz.com on the air.”

I felt the same way.  And I didn’t feel as “dirty” as I thought I would. 

Turn the page.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Media, News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hell Froze Over

  1. TonyC says:

    That’s OK, Gerry. We’ve all dipped into the sleaze pool… did you see the latest about Lindsey? No way! As if!

    I am amazed, however, at the number of attorneys and other leeches making “official” comment on this. The paparazzi culture really is getting out of control.

    Keep us sane!

  2. Gerry says:

    Tony, I may strap on scuba gear and spend the weekend underwater…where I won’t hear anything about Michael and Farrah.
    (So what about Lindsey? Huh? Huh? Huh?)

  3. Gerry:

    Just don’t go quoting the National Enquirer!

  4. Shelly Barnett says:

    Gerry,

    Shelly as in “Rick and Shelly” from WPOP daze…
    MJ, Elvis, Marilyn always bring out the need for juicy tidbits. TMZ is actually minor league compared to the British tabloids. C’mon…the check-out line in the grocery store is where I get my best “trash infusion”. Not to mention the
    World Weekly News where Jocko is sure to be turned into a space alien….

    Oh and the last time a family member had a sighting of you was when Acqua Oyster Bar and Grille was still alive. Our
    youngest son was the chef there for 3 years..

  5. Gerry says:

    Shel! How the hell are you? I didn’t know Acqua was gone. That was a good spot. Unlike the POP daze…I’m always on good behavior now. (In public.)

    • Shelly Barnett says:

      Yes…good behavior comes with age…ahem! Acqua went toes up on Super Bowl Sunday when all employees were locked out. My son now chefs at MGM Foxwoods.
      I am on FB and WPOP alum…
      Happy summer if/when we are going to get one…

      S.

  6. Jim says:

    So that was the chill in the air I felt back in tape.

Leave a Reply

