A Big Helping of Happy

The words “happy” and “news” don’t often go skipping hand-in-hand down Primrose Lane, but what a relatively happy news day Wednesday was.

Connecticut got a new governor, and for a day, the Capitol building was a den of hope, sunny sound bites pinging off the walls of the great building.

And America got an instant and unlikely hero.  A new Ted Williams to root for.  (See previous post.)  Homeless and disheveled one day, a cleaned-up internet sensation the next, thanks to his own dulcet tones and the eye of a  sharp photojournalist in Columbus, Ohio. 

A day of collective hope and inspiration.  Wish we had more of them.  As 85-year-old State Sen. Edith Prague told the Hartford Courant, “I’ll worry about tomorrow tomorrow.”

Edith, it’s tomorrow.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in Media, News, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Big Helping of Happy

  1. Ted was on the Today show this morning and what an amazing story he has. He was fighting tears through most of it and couldn’t have been anymore thankful for the opportunity he has been given. It reminds me to continue to be thankful for what I have and you NEVER know what tomorrow will bring!

    • Gerry says:

      Steve, thanks for checking in, and yes, this is an excellent reminder to be thankful. As for Mr. Williams, once his viral fame passes, I hope he resumes his life without being exploited or being an exploiter.

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    What would a cynic say about all this?

    Not me, mind you, but a cynic.

  3. Cat says:

    Not many of us get that second chance in life. I too hope that Mr. Williams will continue to grace us with the humble and gracious attitude that he’s shown prior to his fame.
    Going from nothing to having it all in such a short time… temptation could be knocking next.
    I’ll put my money on Mr. Williams..

  4. Wendy says:

    I cannot recall when I have witnessed such complete joy, graciousness, and humility wrapped up in one person. Me thinks that this Ted Williams has been thrown a fast ball right in his wheel-house, and he’s hitting one over that left field green wall! YAY!!!

  5. Mary says:

    A very good news day indeed, lets hope it continues I believe we’re all do for positive change.

  6. I’d like to think this story is what it appears to be. But I’ve been trusting Li’l em’s judgment for a while. Let’s see how this story unfolds. What will we think of Ted Williams a months from now?

  7. Steve L says:

    Wednesday would have been a happier day if it was Ted Williams who was taking the oath of office and Dannel was the one getting a job in the private sector!

Leave a comment