5 Weeks at Home

Over.  It’s back to reality today, January 5th, 2015.  Back to work.

It is exactly 48 years since my first close encounter with cancer.  My grandfather died from esophageal cancer on January 5, 1967.

There would be too many more.

A high school friend, Barry, lost a leg to cancer, and shortly thereafter, his life.  Not many people remember Barry, but I do.  I can still “see and hear” Andy, my golf partner.  My father.  My mentor, Al.  I can still hear the roar of my buddy Brian’s Harley most Saturdays when he’d stop in for what we called “The Brian Visit.”  And there are others.

They are why I have never been fazed since I was diagnosed with prostate cancer.  They have been my strongest support group.  No matter how hard they fought (or chose not to), they never had a chance to survive their cancers.

They made me strong.  Because of them, I don’t feel like a “cancer survivor,” because I knew how treatable prostate cancer is, detected early.  Because of them, I had the best possible attitude, which is just as important as having the best possible care.

They were great company over the past five weeks, even if the conversations were all one-way.

But there was no better company than that of my wife.  Anyone who knows her knows she’s a saint, but she was also my hero.  We never know what we’re capable of until we actually have to do it.  And she did it.

The five weeks actually went by quickly, thanks to friends and family who came calling.  If this was a book, they’d all be named in the “Acknowledgments” section.  But it’s a blog post, so we’ll leave it at “they know who they are.”

And to all the social media supporters:  thank you.

I have noticed that whenever the word “cancer” is part of the conversation, there is a certain stigma attached.  I have been out and about, and at first, it was a bit disconcerting to hear, “Hey, you look like yourself,” or, “You really sound good.”  I get it and I appreciate it.

But as I said on my Facebook post on December 3rd, “Rest assured, I’ll be the same as ever, which some may find disappointing.” 

And I am the same as ever, minus one prostate.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to 5 Weeks at Home

  1. amyparmenter says:

    I’ve missed you. But it was good knowing you’d be back. 🙂

  2. Phyllis E. says:

    And your “old self” is who we love…. welcome back!

  3. Jay Slater says:

    Gerry, You said it very well and I am with you. It’s been almost a year for me and I am the same.
    Like yourself, I am lucky to have a wonderful and caring wife who helped me throught it. Glad to have you back on the air.

  4. Gerry Canelli says:

    So glad to read this.

    It’s odd (but fitting) that you mention Barry Brennan. I don’t even need close my eyes and I can see him. He was a good “round ball” player before he lost that leg. What a great guy he was; and so are you. I am so thankful to have you as an old friend.

    More golf in 2015 !!!

  5. Judy Vardon says:

    I am crying after reading your post. You truly never know how strong you are until you have no choice. I have been there. We all have missed you very much. Godspeed!

  6. Pingback: Good News | The Laurel

  7. Linda says:

    Wonderful post, wonderful attitude, wonderful to hear you are doing well. Looking forward to seeing you on air.

  8. Gerry, You could never disappoint! Always good to hear from you!

  9. Jim Harris says:

    Welcome, Gerry, to the list I make all week and take Sundays to St. Patrick-St. Anthony. I regret missing your message from December (the Fbook believes, I guess, that you’re not one of the friends I should have, or read from regularly). From this side of the LCDs in Tolland, we nod with respect.

  10. Renee Antaya says:

    God Bless you Gerry, it will be so great to have you back Your wife sounds like your angel in life.In my book you are the best and I have been with you since day one.

  11. Wendy says:

    Am very happy to know you’re back at work. Missed your presence. Friends and family are the best medicine when dealing with cancer; I know/I’ve been there. 🙂

  12. Nancy says:

    Gerry, Gerry Gerry, I did not get to watch you earlier this evening, but I will at 11pm tonight. I have missed you very much. I am happy you are well and continue to do well. Congratulations on your good health, and welcome back.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Debbi says:

    Very happy you’re back, Gerry! God bless!!!

  14. Pete Larkin says:

    Welcome to the “Club”. Glad you are OK! See you at Tallwood!

  15. Stephen says:

    Gerry, Very happy to hear all is well. My family has been thinking of you every night around 11 hoping everything is ok. Great to hear it is. Watching the news has not been the same without you.

  16. Gene says:

    Great to see you back behind the desk.

  17. cryptoclearance says:

    Being on the Left Coast, I was unable to see your return on the air. Just know that you have former CT fans all over the country. Congrats on your decision to have surgery. It was the right decision. For sure. 😊

  18. Hi Gerry,
    I am happy to see you updating your blog again, and even happier that you are able to continue doing so 😉

    Much love,
    Pete

    • Gerry says:

      Thanks so much Pete. Feeling good. Facebook and Twitter have pushed the blog to the back burner. But I hope to post more from time to time.

  19. lorigalvin says:

    Hi Gerry, this was a great post. I have been diagnosed with a rare blood disease. My husband has proven to be a saint and my greatest support during this time when many choices have been taken away from me. At times the only choice I have left is the way I choose to react to the situation. Well it was good to read your latest entry….although a bit late. And it’s good to see you back on tv.

Leave a comment