When I Least Expect It…

That old Boston accent pops up out of nowhere.

Monday evening I somehow managed to tell our viewers that UConn’s football team was bound for the Fiester Bowl.  It was so blatant, I had to stop and ask, “Did I just say Fiester?  Yes, I believe I did.”

It doesn’t happen often, but when it does, it’s usually turning the “a” at the end of words into “er.”  Philadelphier, Atlanter, Cuber.

I pretty much licked the “ah” problem when I did UMass basketball way back when on WMUA (aka, “The Station of the Cow.”)  UMass was playing Providence, which featured Marvin Barnes.  I vowed to go the entire game without saying Mahvin Bahnes.  I did.  And a career of sorts was born. 

Still, all these years later, every now and then I open my mouth and it happens.  You can take the boy out of Boston, but you can’t take the accent out of the boy.

And you know what?  I’m glad it does.  We are who we are.

About Gerry

I covered Connecticut news and sports for 45 years. Now happily retired.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When I Least Expect It…

  1. Gerry's Mentor says:

    You’re the most wicked cool television guy in the whole areaer! Go north shore!

  2. Sue Bailey says:

    Although from R.I., my mom’s family has the same issue. That’s why none of us were named Donna. My dad said he didn’t want a reindeer (Donner) for a daughter.

  3. Mary says:

    And we love who you are !!!!!!

  4. Bill Callahan says:

    Outstanding!
    Being a New Englander in Montana- I really stick out . Whenever I get tired or spend time with my family, my “native tough” -the old Boston accent comes back.
    Great post, Gerry!

  5. Bill Callahan says:

    Correction- It’s early here….should native tongue…next time I’ll send it to the copy desk!
    Merry Christmas everyone!

  6. Cheryl Rice says:

    I have an “ah” problem, too … as in “Ah-phone” or “ah-pod.” My southern accent is pretty subtle except for that. It led to a really funny phone conversation when I first moved up here. The guy on the other end of the phone was from Providence, and I was spelling some word to make it clearer. He thought I was saying “R” when I was saying “I.”
    “Ah?”
    “No … ah.”
    “Ah?”
    “Ah!”

  7. Dan McCarthy says:

    I still don’t get how Connecticut missed out on the whole “cool New England accent” thing.

Leave a comment