Three Boys in Paris

It’s been far too long…ten years…since we last visited Paris.

Even in the face of last night’s carnage, I think of Paris as a life-affirming place.  Just “being there” is exhilarating.

On our visits, my wife and I will typically split up during the day.  Having done the “must sees” of the city years ago, she will, in all likelihood, shop.  And I will, in all likelihood, walk.  Paris is, of course, a fabulous shopping city, and it is also a great city to walk.  (Though you don’t walk on the grand boulevards, you stroll.)

On my last walk, I came across three boys, brothers, peering into one of the city’s magnificent fountains after a soccer match.  They reminded me of my two brothers and me.

Paris 2005

Our paths crossed for only a few moments a decade ago.  Just long enough to frame them up, take their picture, and smile at their mother who, I recall, seemed grateful for a short break.

But I can’t help but wonder about those three boys.  They must be teenagers now.

I hope they’re OK.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, News, People, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Boys in Paris

  1. Jim Hart says:

    Well said my friend..well said. And you stay well also.

    Jim

  2. Gerry says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Jim. Been too long.

Leave a Reply

