She Came Running To Me…

…on a perfect August afternoon in Hebron, Connecticut.

She was wearing a necklace that jingled and jangled as she gained speed.  She was a lovely shade of cinnamon brown.  She stood  just over a foot tall.  I think she was a pit bull mix.

Life could not have been better.  I was playing the round of my life at Tallwood Country Club.  I had just birdied the 16th hole, and hit a fine drive on 17.  I remember thinking, “This is fabulous.  It’s my birthday, I feel great, I’m playing great, what could possibly go wrong?”  And then she appeared out of nowhere.

There were four of us.  She chose me.  She came at me as quickly as her four stubby legs could carry her.  I couldn’t read the look on her face.  Was she happy?  Was she hungry? Was I lunch?  I thought, “This is the way it ends?  Really?”

ballWhat did she want?  She wanted to play.  And she wanted to play with the Titleist ProV1 (#3, marked with a blue dot) that had given me 4 birdies.  I had bonded with that ball, but she was not to be denied.  She grabbed it and ran.

My playing partners did their best to help.  I’m not sure what their greater concern was: the dog, or my potential meltdown.  I was fighting it, but there was no question that I would be the more vicious of the two if provoked.

The ball was recovered, but unplayable.  Naturally, she chased after my next shot, which went into the high pines.  I salvaged a bogey.  Rinse and repeat on the 18th hole.  I may have shot my best round ever.  Or not.  When the numbers were added up, I had.

77.

As we sat and had a beer to celebrate my little achievement, I looked out the window. There she was, walking up the cart path.  I thought she might come in, hop up on a chair, and say, “Wasn’t that fun?”

What a bitch.  (In the dog sense of the word.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to She Came Running To Me…

  1. Cat says:

    She knows a good “catch”, oops I mean “fetch” when she sees one.. Ha! Sorry, I couldn’t resist..

  2. Mike Parrott says:

    Congrats on your round Gerry. That’s a great birthday present.

  3. Gene says:

    I always thought that if you played the same ball for more than one hole you were already having a great day. 😉

  4. Playful Pits! They truly have play on the brain. Thanks for being a good Man and indulging her! Sorry she disrupted your game – my husband golfs (pretty badly) and he would not be amused…..

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    So,
    you shot your lowest score ever on your birthday, the very day your age became the highest ever. Congratulations, Big Man, and note the day. It’s the closest you’ve ever come to shooting your age! Nice timing.

    Way to go.

  6. Jean says:

    Just re-read, again I am still laughing. Congrats on your birthday and game.

Leave a Reply

