I Was Thinking

I was thinking how mentally exhausted I was when a friend who’s had two strokes and lost the sight in an eye called to ask how I was doing.  I told myself to shut up.

I was thinking that a week ago I was in Mexico, where many American tourists are afraid to go.  Because of the violence.

I was thinking about the wrapped gifts already purchased and waiting under the Christmas tree for kids who will never get to open them.

I was thinking that when I was in elementary school, the only drill we had to learn was getting under a wooden desk to protect ourselves from an atomic bomb.  (And I’m still congratulating myself for never believing that desk would stop the bomb.)

I was thinking that I can’t stop thinking about the families.  That includes the Lanzas, Peter and Ryan.

I was thinking we all owe Ryan Lanza an apology for reporting he was the shooter.  And that he shot his father in New Jersey.  Which he didn’t.  There has to be a better way.

I was thinking that State Police Lt. Paul Vance is one helluva guy.  But I’ve always thought that.

I was thinking Morgan Freeman is a great actor gifted with the voice of god, but does not speak for the nation, and did not author an anti-news media treatise.

I was thinking it’s too easy to perpetrate a hoax.

I was thinking President Obama is an incredible speaker.

I was thinking we have to put his words spoken in Newtown into action.

I was thinking I should stop thinking for a while.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to I Was Thinking

  1. Dan Davis says:

    I was thinking. After 9/11 we bolted cockpit doors and put air marshalls on board. Then we armed pilots and air marshalls were gradually weaned out. Seems to be working. Why not adopt a similar approach to school safety? Instead of hiring air marshalls, utilize soldiers from our returning armed forces. Just thinking.
    (relieved to learn that Mr Freeman did not write that anti media piece.)

  2. Brian Mancinelli says:

    Naaaa. Keep the mind active and keep writing too!

  3. Christie says:

    Nicely said Gerry!! It’s been incredibly hard to stop thinking about this horrible tragedy. I am a stay-at-home mom with an 8-year-old daughter in 3rd grade and a 3-year-old little boy. We’ve been having some “trying times” with our three-year-old as of late but after this I realize that as long as my kids are HERE I can handle anything. And I Lt. Paul Vance is one strong man….I do no envy his job one bit!!

  4. Linda says:

    All of the staff of NBC30 should be very proud of the work they have done the past several days. Such a difficult story to cover. I agree with all your points. But it is very difficult not to think about it. Christmas day will be difficult as I will be thinking of all those families who lost a loved one.

  5. Ricky's mom says:

    Loved this blog. The problem with instant news is the time needed to verify all facts. That is scary….read so many conflicting stories. Gerry, I am older than you and remember the data that a desk would save me from atomic bomb and bringing canned food to school would keep me alive for days and where I would go once the bomb fell….I know how frightening this was when I was 6 and now children are training to hide from shooters. I don’t know how people report the news….I have cried for days. Thank you for “thinking”

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you. I was talking to my mother yesterday. I said, “You know, I knew that desk wouldn’t stop a bomb.” She said, “Yeah, you were a brilliant kid.” We laughed. But there is nothing funny about about training kids to hide from gunmen.

  6. Mikrokosmo says:

    Gerry –

    I was thinking last night as I listened to your coverage during the interfaith vigil how incredibly difficult it must be to keep your composure at such a time. I know I was certainly having trouble keeping myself together . . . in fact, I broke down on several occasions.

    I was thinking as I read your post just how much I agree with what you said here, especially the part about the President putting his words into action.

    This has become all too commonplace . . . and that really must change.

    Thank you,
    μΘ

  7. melissa says:

    Hi Gerry,
    I dont know how you guys are able to report this with out crying. I have been trying to process this situation since it happened and I just can’t. My children ages 5 and 7 ask me questions and I dont know what to say or how to say it. It’s hard. I’m not a resident of CT anymore but my heart and my prayers are with the town of Newtown. I hope we can find the answers we are all looking for. But for me I’m just going to look up and and pray.

    • Gerry says:

      Prayer is good, Melissa. Nice to hear from you, and I hope all is well. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

      • Melissa says:

        Just wanted to share with you the insights of my 5 year old son :Last night as I was putting Austin to bed he said to me Mommy why are all those people crying for the kids that were killed? I said because it’s very sad and their Mommies and Daddys loved them very much. He said they shouldnt be crying and I asked why. My little Austin sat up in bed and said because they are all angels now. They arent hurting anymore they are with Jesus

  8. Laura Duggan says:

    It was helpful to read of Gerry’s thoughts about the darkness which visited Newtown. Perhaps,
    if we all put our focus on what happened, we can find our way to stop the violence. I believe that
    there will have to be many solutions. Gun control is one. It might just help to reach out to some
    person you know who looks isolated and alone. A gift of kindness or compassion could fill up a space that might be otherwise occupied with evil.

  9. John says:

    Gerry. I have always thought highly of you as a CT news personality…and that is a good thought. One thing I don’t want to see is our local media outlets promoting themselves through this tragedy. We see it all the time after tragedies, whether it is a storm like Sandy or some other high profile news event, local news outlets feel the urge to tell people through a montage about how THEY were “first to report” or how THEY “had our back.” For instance after Hurricane Sandy one local station had a commercial with sad music showing each of their reporters on the scene of some devastation. I mean some people lost everything and the station was patting themselves on the back for a job well done. Many of us want to watch programming on tv to get our minds off of things in the real world. The last thing I want to see in the coming months is your station or any other station to promote their local newscast with images of first responders holding their weapons, children running to safety or people crying, It just seems wrong…especially when a lot of information being reported was not accurate (and I am not blaming anyone on that because the siutuation was chaotic and nothing like we have ever seen…and hopefully never will.) If you have any say over stuff like, maybe you could let upper mgmt know to tone down the self promotion.

    I think you a class act..and we here in Connecticut are lucky to have you.

    • Gerry says:

      Thanks John. I would be stunned if any station did the “LOOK AT US!!!” kind of promos you refer to. I know we’ve been running a very low-key spot without a voice track that says simply “Continuing coverage” at the end. I’m our (and my) worst critic, and even I thought it was tasteful. Keep in touch, and thank you for the kind words.

  10. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry (and the entire NBC-Connecticut Team/Family),

    You have all been so professional and compassionate. It is so sad and difficult to process. I feel so sad for Gov. Malloy, President Obama and all the police, fire and medical people directly involved with this. Thank you for the job you all do so well under such trying circumstances.

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you, Kathryn. I’m very proud to work with the people who walk through the doors of NBC CT every day. And from the President on down, “sad” sums it up.

  11. Gene says:

    Hi Gerry.

    I know that sometimes, your job really sucks. Thanks for being there.

  12. Anne says:

    Once again you are able to put on paper what many of us are feeling right now. NBC 30 is a class act and you lead the way!

  13. MrLogical says:

    I was thinking: Why do local and national media and H’wood celebrity types always seem to think that we need to know that they think, and that we actually care about what they’re thinking, and that what they actually think really counts for anything? Do you think that they ever think about this?

Leave a Reply

