Thank You, Linda

If nobody else will, I would like to thank Linda McMahon for her generous support of the Connecticut  broadcast industry.

Linda McMahon

She spent more than 77-million dollars of her own money to run for the U.S. Senate in 2010 and again in 2012.  (Excuse me, I want to see that in all numbers.  $77,000,000.  Wow.)

Much of that money was spent on broadcast advertising.  Which pays our salaries.

It seems to me that it would be wrong not to say, “Thank you.”

I never fully understood why Mrs. McMahon, or anyone, would spend that kind of fortune to run for public office, no matter how civic minded they may be.

I suppose because they can.

I forgot to mention she didn’t win either race.  So far be it from me to discourage her from spending, oh, another 40-million or so to run for governor in two years.

She says she won’t.  Too bad.  But there’s  plenty of time to reconsider.

This day after, critics are saying, “Think of all the good that money could have done.”

Oh, but it did.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Thank You, Linda

  1. dudley228 says:

    I rather her use her money then taxpayers money. Look at the money in other races. Why should we hold her to this standard and not the other politicians and people spending so much to win their office.

  2. Just Joan says:

    But that money could have done an awful lot for needy schools and nonprofits, rather than on behalf of her ego.

  3. Sure wish she’d throw some of that cash towards education

    • Steve L says:

      I hope she takes what money she has left and moves the WWE down to Florida or Texas where they appreciate business and are more EDUCATED on the way the real world works.

  4. Sharon says:

    adios Linda, It is Linda, right? I almost forgot your name…

  5. dannetdavis@comcast.net says:

    a wise ass blog for sure.

  6. John says:

    So wait a second…rich people put money into the economy. That’s weird.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    She and her husband are rich because they correctly surmised that the American public is happier spending their money on cartoonish wrestling exhibitions than on ineffective educational systems, political pork, unnecessary corporate subsidies, coercive unions, non-profit enterprises that are perfectly able to turn a profit, and all the other entities Americans are compelled to finance against their will. Hats off to the McMahons for generating income for all the privately owned companies and the individuals they employ. Let them spend their dough any way they want.

  8. My sources tell me that L’il em kel was, and still is, in the employ of the McMahons. Included on his eclectic resume is a stint as a wrestler in the McMahons’ organization. He wrestled under the name of Half Nelson Mensala, a play on his membership in Mensa ( No joke. Smartest guy I’ve ever worked with ) Half Nelson hung up his shorts a few years ago, but still writes for the McMahons. He’s their Senior PR Writer, and is paid well for his efforts.

    • Li'l Em-Kel says:

      Paid so much in fact that, next go-round, I myself will be running for the Senate representing Connecticut. My campaign slogan (with a tip of the hat to Richard “Kinky” Friedman) is: How Tough Can It Be?

  9. Bruce Farr says:

    I heard one pundit comment that he thinks Linda should simply take the rest of her husband’s cash and have a bonfire with it–same results (although I do agree with you that spending it on media buys keeps a lot of us in spending money).

  10. Mikrokosmo says:

    You know Gerry . . . I’ve been thinking all during this extremely LONG election cycle just how much fun it must be for the broadcasters.

    Let’s raise a glass in a toast to Linda’s millions . . . they did not die in vain! 🙂

    μΘ

Leave a Reply

