Eleven Years On

I have been writing a lot about travel lately, and travel played a significant role in my memory of the most fateful day of my lifetime.

My wife and I returned from Italy on September 10, 2001.  As we flew into JFK, I said the same thing I always said as we would see the Manhattan skyline come into sight.

“There’s the World Trade Center.  We’re home.”

It was a perfect blue sky day, same as the morning we watched the world as we knew it change.

We still fly into JFK, and now there’s a new World Trade Center to acknowledge as Manhattan comes into sight.

But we will always have double vision.  We will see the new tower before our eyes.

But in our mind’s eye, we will see the twin towers.  And think of those who left us that day.

Forever.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eleven Years On

  1. teddi says:

    Miss you on the news, when are you coming back?

  2. Kathryn D. says:

    Good – you’ve been missed!

  3. Maureenh says:

    But we have really enjoyed your pictures of your trip. Glad you made it back safely.

  4. Linda says:

    I’ve been playing catch-up on your posts. The smile on your face in your pictures says you had an outstanding time! Great stories, great pictures – can’t wait for your next trip! Welcome home.

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    Yes, of course the posts and photos were very much enjoyed. I should have said that yesterday!

Leave a Reply

