The Cherry on Top

Our “Summer of 60” tour made its final stop in Scottsdale, Arizona.  That’s where our friends will retire to shortly.

After playing the gorgeous courses of the Monterey peninsula, I had no idea of the visual treats my friend’s home course would offer.  Until we went to hit some balls on the range.  I could spend the day at this range.  Hit balls.  Sit in Adirondack chairs.  Sip cold water.  Rinse and repeat.

And then there was the view from the first tee at Desert Highlands.  It is majestic.  You feel as if you’re on top of the world.  In reality, it’s a short par 4.

The bunkers are unlike any I’ve ever seen.  They are huge.  On some holes, waste areas transition directly into bunkers.  This is the 9th hole.

And speaking of bunkers, how’d you like to be in this one?  Would you concentrate on the flag, or could you keep your eyes off Pinnacle Peak?

What a privilege to play the courses I did.  And what fun it was to play them with a friend I’ve known nearly all my life.

I’m so happy for my friends.  They are dedicated professionals who worked hard their entire lives, earned every penny they made, and are about to enjoy a wonderful life they richly deserve.

And we make wonderful houseguests.  (We’ll be back.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

