There’s Something About a German Accent

Our hotel in San Francisco has a beautiful old world bar and restaurant.  Lots of dark wood, white linen, and leather.

The service is impeccable.

This morning, I ordered an omelette.

“With bacon and cheddar, please.”

“You will have mushrooms, yes?”

“Yes.  Yes I will.”

“Good.”

There’s something about the teutonic tone that just makes you say, “Yes.  Yes I will.”

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to There’s Something About a German Accent

  1. Beckie says:

    Has your hotel always been Sir Francis Drake? The hotel we stayed in near Union Square looked similar to your photo, but it was Italian. It had been sold shortly before we arrived and the name changed later. But I seem to remember seeing the Sir Francis Drake, so I don’t think it’s the same hotel.
    (If you haven’t already, try to visit Top of the Mark. STUNNING view!)

    • Beckie says:

      Just figured out the hotel we where we stayed in ’07. It’s now The Villa Florence. Can’t remember what the name was before.
      Stand by The Top of the Mark comment. We went at sunset. Absolutely gorgeous! Expensive, though. We had a drink there (and I mean ONE drink each. As I recall, they were martinis and the bill was like $40.)

Leave a Reply

