A Room with a View

Greetings from San Francisco.  It’s been a few years since we’ve been in one of our favorite cities.

It’s always nice to discover new places, but this trip we’re revisiting a few old favorites.  Instead of the rush to see the sights, we can enjoy the city at leisure. 

The enjoyment starts with opening the curtains and taking in the view.  In our line of sight:  the Sir Francis Drake Hotel, where we began our honeymoon trip 31 years ago.  We will visit the Starlight room for a drink and memories.

My only regret on this trip?  The Giants are out of town.  I would have loved to see a ballgame at AT&T Park.  I’ve walked the perimeter.  It’s a beauty.

But that’s the most minor of regrets.  Time to stroll SFO.  I’d call it the Boston of the West, but San Francisco deserves better.  And that’s no insult to my hometown.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Room with a View

  1. Li'l Em-Jel says:

    Start at the intersection of Powell and California where the cable car tracks cross. Walk a half-block down Powell toward Union Square. In the early ’70s I lived on the third (top) floor front of 730 Powell. I rented a furnished apartment there for $165 a month.

    If you have time, stop in and tell them that I still haven’t received my deposit refund.

    Thanks.

    Oh, and have a ball!

  2. Gene says:

    Only time I was out there was 1965. Went to Candlestick to see the Giants and wouldn’t you know Willie Mays sat out that day. It was late July and we felt like we were freezing in the afternoon sun.

  3. clearlysue says:

    Bet you’re sorry you’re missing the riveting RNC convention – not…

Leave a Reply

