A Gay Old Time

One of our favorite pubs in England is called “The Yew Tree.”

But this was the first time I’d ever seen a “U tree.”  It stands in all its quirky glory at the Bay Club golf course in Mattapoisett, MA.

I’d say it was one of the more unusual sights I saw last weekend on and near Cape Cod, as the celebration of the “Summer of 60” continued.  But the weekend also included our first drag show at the Art House in Provincetown.   It was my birthday present from friends we were visiting.

Charles Busch

The show starred the lovely Charles Busch, and it was…surprisingly tame.  I don’t know if I expected outrageous, but I did expect edgy.  Instead, we got a very talented man in drag presenting a standard cabaret show.

The most unusual sight of the evening was catching  glances from people (obviously from Connecticut) as I walked along Commercial St. with a friend who happens to be gay.  I could see the looks of recognition in their eyes, and then they would quickly turn away.  I could tell what was going through their minds.

“Is he…?”

No.

But what if I was?  And why would it matter?

So far, the “Summer of 60” has been spent with family and friends.  Up next, a trip that’s a year in the making.  I’ll be checking in.

   

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, People, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Gay Old Time

  1. Cat says:

    And to still a phrase from Seinfeld ~”Not that theres anything wrong with that”~……………….

Leave a Reply

