The Summer of 60

Not 1960.  The age.  60.  Which I will be.  Soon.

As 60 gets closer, it gets less threatening.  It had been preying on my mind for some time, because my father and grandfathers never quite made it to 70.  Morbid, I know.

But it has occurred to me that I have learned well from their medical histories.  I’m probably better taken care of than they were.  I’m the opposite of hypochondriac, but if I do sense something’s not right, I will call a doctor.  In general, not enough men have learned that lesson.  I’m glad I have.  And if I didn’t, my mother would bark at me.  She’s a pit bull when it comes to that.

Already working on my “annoyed” look at 2 months. Change the damned diaper, already!

I distinctly remember my grandparents visiting every weekend, and thinking, “I wonder what I’ll look like when I get old?”  Now I realize they were in their late 40s and early 50s when that thought first crossed my little mind.

But now I know.  And I’m good with it. (Though my definition of ‘old’ has changed radically since then.)

I suppose, given the business I’m in, that I should have had hair transplants…should have had my teeth straightened…should have lost 40 pounds and shaved off my mustache 20 years ago.

But that’s not me.  I gotta be me.

I feel as good as I ever have.  I’m enjoying life more than I ever have.  I’m still at the top of my game, if I say so myself.  And I just did.

So life is good as I knock on the door of the next decade.  (Just don’t tell me “It’s just a number, OK?”)  I will celebrate, and the celebration will continue soon on a vacation with a lifelong buddy and our wives. 

And because I plan to hang around for a good long while, I will be looking both ways for buses before I cross any streets.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Summer of 60

  1. Gene says:

    “Old” is always 10 years older than whatever age we are.

  2. Deborah says:

    You’ll be fine, because you always were.

  3. Wendy says:

    I suspect that a birthday is right around the corner, so Happy Birthday!! Celebrate heartily which I am sure you will. Keep the celebration going! Milk it! Enjoy it! You’re just a youngster, Gerry! And ~ look both ways, but up, down, around ~ everywhere so you don’t miss anything in life! Very best wishes!

  4. Ed from CT says:

    Have at it, our Mr. Brooks!
    All the best on your milestone and, for what it’s worth, I agree with Gene and Deborah.
    I just regret that you weren’t the moderator for the debate. I would have loved to see your facial expressions as the candidates answered (kinda…not really) the questions.

  5. Gary says:

    I’ve always been able to relate to a lot of things you say concerning music and a lot of other topics you throw out comments about. I’m 62 and don’t feel old, still feel 40 or so. You’ll be fine and you will show it on air I’m sure. Heck, it’s obvious all of your co workers are crazy about you. Enjoy your age and aging, it seems we gain respect just for hanging in there with a good attitude.

  6. Gerry says:

    Appreciate all your comments. It’s all good!

  7. J.A. Scott says:

    My mom, who is 85, used to say, “I’m too young to have such old children!” I began to understand what she meant around the time I turned 60 last year, despite – unfortunately – not having had any kids. And, as my dad (who’s 93) has been known to say, “It’s better than the alternative!”

    Happy birthday, and enjoy!

  8. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry,

    Congratulations! Did you know that 60 is the new 40? Well, in my mind it is. You look and sound great. I completely agree with Gary – you have great chemistry with your co-workers – the banter makes watching that much more enjoyable. You and your team are doing a great job with the Olympics as well. I am even staying up for the 11 o’clock news at midnight for these couple of weeks because you all are the best. Happy Birthday! I hope you have a great vacation/celebration! 🙂

  9. Cheri LaBombard says:

    Happy Birthday! You aren’t going to be 60 though….think of it as $59.95 plus shipping and handling.
    Cheri of Colchester

  10. Graham says:

    Having past that threshold several years ago, I will say……..it’s not that bad. We keep very busy and that way I don’t have time to be old. I can’t do everything I could 20 years ago, but that has given me time to learn to do and enjoy other things which I had been putting off. Just go with it and enjoy every minute.

  11. Anne says:

    I have ALWAYS watched NBC news because of the quality of its newscasters. You are the best Mr. Brooks. Educated, talented and extremely knowlegable- what a combination!!! I wish you many happy and healthy birthdays with family and friends!

  12. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Look at it this way, Ger; you’re a year closer to shooting your age.

  13. Jay Cleary says:

    Joe and I hit” the number” on Wednesday..They still refer to us as “The Cleary boys”….Have a good one, Gerry !

  14. Dennis House says:

    Gerry, Happy Birthday! That means when I started at Channel 3 you’d just turned 40. Where has the time gone? Hope you celebrated in style.
    Dennis

    • Gerry says:

      Thanks Dennis. We’re still just boys. Just recovered from Phase One of the celebration. Phases Two and Three still ahead. After all, if not now, when?

Leave a Reply

