Reading Material

Over the course of a week, I read quite a bit.  The daily newspaper, of course (yes, the old fashioned hard copy), a magazine or two, a book (right now, it’s Robert Caro’s The Passage of Power), and like everyone else, a ton of stuff on the internet.

Two things I read this past week stayed with me.  I saw them on the internet, and I thought I’d pass them along.

One is the self-authored obituary of a Utah man that was honest, hilarious, and heartrending.   It also hit home because we’re about the same age.  To read the obit he wrote, click here.  To read a story the Salt Lake Tribune did on it, click here.

Would I write something like that?  Could I?  I have no plans to find out anytime soon.

The other item I read this week was from The Onion.  The Onion, for the uninitiated, is a wickedly funny website that offers a satirical take on the news of the day.  Nothing is sacred.  Still, I was surprised when they did a piece Friday on the Colorado shootings.  Apprehensive, too.

To read it, click here.

It’s not satirical, so much as it is a sad and truthful commentary on how this story will play out in the media, and how we, as a people, will react.

Life as we know it.  And death, too.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News, Noticed and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading Material

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Val Patterson is gone but his distended ego lives on.

Leave a Reply

