I Am Who I Am. I Think.

Got my drivers license renewed today.  Big day.  My first license picture in years without a mustache.

I thought it might be a good idea, given our travels, to have my identity verified on the license.  Basically, that means I am who the license says I am, but in this case, to the satisfaction of the federal government.

I looked at the list of documents required to have my identity verified, and brought my passport and birth certificate.  (My birth certificate, by the way,  has the most exquisite handwriting on it.  Do schools still teach the Palmer or Rinehart systems of penmanship?  No?  I didn’t think so.  Too bad.  But I digress.)

Pleased with my preparedness and efficiency, I marched into a Triple A office to renew my license.

The license I got,  the identity verification I did not.  Seems a passport and a birth certificate aren’t enough.  The nice lady asked for a Social Security card, but the last time I saw mine, I was, oh, 12.  She asked if I brought a W-2 form.  I hadn’t.  (And I usually carry one, and ask people if they want to see what I make!) 

I retreated to my car, and looked at the list of other acceptable forms.  Hey, a court order will do!!!

“Honey, will you file for a restraining order against me???  I want my identity verified.”

I didn’t make that call.  But I wanted to.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Am Who I Am. I Think.

  1. You could walk in with any birth certificate and how would they know it’s you? No picture, and if it did would it look like you? Gerry, when we first met you were clean shaven and about 15. The last time you had a mustache and from your pictures now you don’t. So on your birth certificate stash or no?

  2. collegedome says:

    I’m disappointed you didn’t just scream, “Don’t you know who I am?”

  3. G.M.Duclos says:

    Had the passport, had the birth certificate, and had the Social Security card ( the original ). Got turned down because I had laminated my social security card when I received it 1972. Hence the original.

  4. Rick B. says:

    I haven’t had my Social Security card since I was about 12 either. Due to a recent circumstance I had to get a replacement, so I went down to my local Social Security office with passport in hand and applied for a new one. I received a new one in a week. I don’t know if still having my mustache after all these years had any part in it, but it was quick and painless. Another rule from Uncle Sam they tell you NOT to carry it on your person but rather store it in a safe place. Go figure.

  5. Of course the penmanship is well done, the written word was still new at that time…. Sometimes I actually go for the slow pitches…..

  6. Steve L says:

    How ironic that it would of taken you all of five minutes to register to vote, with or without your mustache.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    I still have my original, unvarnished social security card (and my draft board classification card as well). My SS card is stored in a safe deposit box, but I distinctly remember that on the face of the card it states in no uncertain terms that the card is not to be used for identification purposes. But that’s all anybody uses it for these days even though it is singularly unsuited to identifying anyone. Hell, in another five years it won’t even be good for social security.

  8. GerryG says:

    Oddly, I got my license renewed the same day. I did get the “verified” version. And as they were scanning all my documents, I thought “oh, good…now when the DMV computers get hacked, I can ask the state for 3 years of identity theft protection. As if! HA!

  9. Bob's Box says:

    My mom HATES her license picture.She thinks it’s the ugliest out there.

Leave a Reply

