The Joy of Travel

A brochure from a cruise line came in the mail today.  It had an eye-grabbing picture on the cover, which I admired for a moment before I realized that I had taken the exact same picture.

In 2005.

On the Greek island of Mykonos.

Obviously, this is a scene that begs anyone holding a camera to lift it to eye level and click.

The water, the sky, the colors, the buildings, the splash of the surf…mesmerizing.

I loved that moment.  I loved being there, I loved the feeling of being there.  I loved that the best picture I took was the one in my mind, not in my camera.  The picture that let me identify the picture on the brochure.  It’s called memory, and this was one of my favorite memories.

I have many pictures like this in my mind.

I am a very lucky guy.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Noticed, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Joy of Travel

  1. pete says:

    gerry, i do miss your posts… especially ones like this one.

    • Gerry says:

      Thank you Pete. The blog’s not dead, it’s just resting. Work demands that I spend more time with Twitter and Facebook these days, and there’s only so much time for social media. Not that I’m anti-social.
      If any of you are on Twitter, feel free to follow me at @GerryBrooks. You can find me on Facebook on my page “Gerry Brooks NBC Connecticut.”

      • RJM says:

        Isn’t it sad that FB & Twitter are required and not a choice? I bet if you had a choice, it might be different!

      • Gerry says:

        Ummmmm…..
        But they’re useful in their own ways, too. Less time consuming, but not as satisfying.

  2. Gary says:

    If you’ve ever been to Curacao you’d see a simliar scene only more colorful because it’s Dutch. think about a cruise that goes there sometime Gerry, you’ll be glad.

  3. Cat says:

    Oh, something tells me the vacation bug is biting, again… I have to agree with Pete, we do miss your wit over here. I refuse to Twit, or Tweet or whatever they call it. Can’t understand how people have the time to stare at a phone all day long. Guess I’m just old fashioned in some ways. Hey Ger, please don’t forget us over here……

  4. Linda says:

    I, too, miss reading your posts. I hope you know that you brought many laughs, provoking thoughts, and just plain enjoyable reading to a lot of people. This social media thing just seems to be taking over everything! Our library has really ramped up it’s facebook page. But it’s taking a toll on the staff that are managing it. We still have to order and process books and serve the public, so time has become very precious. I hope your station can find a way to free up some of your time so you can go back to blogging on a more regular basis.

  5. Gerry says:

    Cat, Linda, everybody’s trying to figure out what works best for television stations and newspapers vis a vis social media. If my news director didn’t ask (aka “strongly suggest”) that I start blogging a few years ago, we might never have met. Twitter and Facebook have their value, but ultimately, somewhere down the road, this blog is what will endure.

Leave a Reply

