Too Much Noise

“I don’t have to describe it. You saw it. It was outstanding.”

I think I’m going to like Red Sox manager Bobby Valentine.  That was his response Monday when reporters questioned him about Jon Lester’s performance.

Really, what was there to say?  It was outstanding, and they saw it.  So there.

I hope he survives the Boston media.

Why does everything need to be talked to death?

Some things can actually be taken at face value.  It was good.  It was bad.  Move on.

It is particularly noisy this year.  Politics, you know.

And right now, all of America (and all of CNN, MSNBC, and FOX, of course) is talking about a crime in Florida we really know very little about.  The volume is turned up.  All the way up.  (Please don’t misinterpret.  Discussion about key social issues is critically important.  But we still know very little about the actual events of this particular crime.)

Sometimes, when I get weary of all the noise, I try not to contribute to it.  Which is why I haven’t posted here as often as I might like to.  So many voices, so many opinions, vying for the attention of your eyes and ears, and, after all, you only have two of each.

Sometimes, silence really is golden.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Too Much Noise

  1. Linda says:

    I’m so glad someone else realizes that we (the world) don’t have all the facts and this shouldn’t be playing out in the media. But, Gerry, we miss you when you are silent! You have such a wonderful gift of writing that’s just meant to be shared.

    • Gerry says:

      Linda, thank you. Sometimes I actually have nothing to say. Actually, I often have nothing to say. But I’ll try to say it more often.

  2. Rick B. says:

    Ger, I’ve always felt you’ve made your commentaries on subjects that are either of a unique human interest or something involving a cause that many would ignore because it wasn’t sensational or headline grabbing, you’ve never tried to over analyze. Be that as it may with all the cable channels and news outlets today there are armies of talking heads and so called experts that bloviate on subjects just to hear themselves talk and hope that someone will actually take them seriously. There is so much of it coming at you it’s come to the point where it becomes difficult for individuals to form opinions on their own. There is a term “The Fog of War” where reality and unreality can’t be differentiated any longer. The mass media with its constant multiple dissections and over analyzing of events are creating the same situation with every day events. They should be more concerned with giving us the true facts and let us draw our own conclusions and opinions, it will bring back the lost art of critical thinking

  3. Mary says:

    I’m on the less is more bandwagon, and there are plenty of empty seats.

  4. Gene says:

    Gerry, you always make excellent observations so I hate to nitpick, but we don’t even know if the event in Florida was a “crime”.

    Back to other issues of importance, I think Bobby will survive the Boston media (as long as he is willing to).

  5. Steve L says:

    ” ” ” ” ” (the sound of crickets)

  6. Ed from CT says:

    Re: Bobby V-
    Wait a sec- Gerry, you say you are a fan of “silence is golden” but you think you will like Bobby Valentine? My bet is, as the season goes on, there will be a large disconnect between those two: silence and Bobby Valentine.
    Though I do recall him being quiet when, as Mets’ manager, he once wore a disguise and another time when he did a shuffle back and forth up the dugout steps and then ended up leaving Kenny Rogers in to lose the playoffs to the Braves- but, then again, both those times his actions spoke louder than words.
    Further, I bet that, as the season goes on and Bobby starts- well, “being Bobby”- you will want to be anything but silent.

    • Gerry says:

      Ed, you may have veered a little off-topic on this one, but if I were a Mets fan, I’d be off-topic too. 😉

      • Ed from CT says:

        I was focusing on the silver lining… and taking your suggestion of staying silent on the main topic. 🙂 But you forget- I am definitely not a Mets fan (remember our Yankees- Red Sox banter back in the day?) but I will make a first visit to the new Mets stadium (named for some bailed-out bank I won’t mention) this year only because, after the game ends, there will be a Cheap Trick concert which- no doubt- will be a lot more fun than watching the Mets.

      • Gerry says:

        I remember. And fully expected a Cheap Trick plug. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

