Still Idiots After All These Years

Between Friday night and Saturday night, my two brothers and I traded a total of 149 text messages regarding a family event.

Three or four would have been fine, but we’re brothers.  That means we’re idiots in our own little world.  Age means nothing.

We continued a lifetime tradition of playing a game called, “Who Gets In The Last Word?”

As kids, it might be who said, “Goodnight” last.  As adults (adults?), it’s usually a variation on the theme.

Over the course of 149 texts, some “Three Stooges” material turned up, as well as a couple of Beatles references.  There was a picture of a dog and a reference to a person named Kitty (beyond explanation, so don’t ask).

We are idiots.

And we’re good with it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Living in the Past, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Still Idiots After All These Years

  1. Judy Kellogg Vardon says:

    Siblings never grow up. It’s wonderful that you are all so close. Not everyone has that.

  2. Beckie says:

    So, it’s not just my husband and his brothers? Is it strictly limited to texting or do emails count too?
    I’m not sure this translates to sisters. I don’t do that w/my sister. Don’t do it with my brothers either. I’m thinking it’s a “between brothers” thing.

  3. Kathy Kray says:

    I have 9 brothers and sisters! My mother is still with us, although not always with it. There’s also 22 grandchildren and 9 great grandchildren so you can imagine the family conversations! All is good, though. Family is family to the end!

  4. Lones'm Em-Kel says:

    Gee, none of my sibs can put together 140 characters without losing interest.

  5. Steve L says:

    I have 3 sisters and two brothers and all somebody has to do is send an e-mail that says ‘hello” and all Hell breaks loose. In a matter of 5 minutes, 50 e-mails can be received with insults, jokes, derogatory age insults (usually directed at me), & other inane blather. Not surprising, my sisters are the ‘Best” or “Worst” at this, depending how you look at it.
    Thanks for letting me know that we are not the only idiots out there.

  6. Maureen says:

    Treasure those “idiots”. They won’t be with your forever.

  7. Idiot #3 says:

    Bye bye!

Leave a Reply

