Can’t We All Just Get Along?

Not if we want to have talk shows and cable news channels.

Cal Thomas

But Cal Thomas, a prominent conservative columnist and radio/cable talking head, called a time-out after ripping MSNBC’S Rachel Maddow at the Conservative Political Action Conference.

He wrote a column about it, and there’s not a one of us who can’t benefit from what he had to say.

Here it is.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Cable Hell, Diatribes, People, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Can’t We All Just Get Along?

  1. Gene says:

    A lot of people find it nearly impossible to say “I made a mistake”, “I was wrong”, “I apologize”. The first time can be hard, but it gets a lot easier with practice.

  2. heather says:

    “Why do so many of us only watch programs that reinforce what we already believe? Where is the growth in that?”
    I wonder that all of the time…

    It’s so easy for people to let their passion for something cause them to speak without thinking about what their words may do…good on Mr. Thomas for realizing that and for taking the high road.

  3. If you don’t like the heat, don’t go in to kitchen.

  4. NancyB says:

    Great article — I think there are a couple lessons for us all.

  5. Steve L says:

    Cal got his “M’s” mixed up. He meant Maxine Waters, not Rachel Maddow. No apology necessary then!

  6. Thanks for sharing this Gerry. It takes a classy fellow to issue an abject apology for doing something unclassy. Good for Thomas — and for Maddow for being so gracious.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Great job, Cal. Next time I bump somebody in the supermarket I’m gonna say “Excuse me” and then tell everybody in the place how gallant I am. Feels so good!

  8. Gene says:

    But did Cal apologize to “all the rest of the crowd at MSNBC, too”?

  9. Petite A-mie

    I read Cal’s piece and thought: Who could find fault with any of this? Then I read your comment. Typically, you reframed it beautifully.

Leave a Reply

