The Greatest Game Ever Played

The 18 holes I played on Saturday at Tallwood C.C. in Hebron with PGA professional and friend John Nowobilski.

It wasn’t that I played that well.  It was that I played at all.  On February 4th.  A year after there was four feet of snow on the ground.  And 34 years (today) after the Blizzard of ’78.

(What, you thought the title referred to the Super Bowl?)

Feherty "Tebows" for Tim

The greatest performance of the weekend?  Oh, Eli and Tom played well, but a young fellow named Kyle Stanley had one of the greatest one-week turnarounds any professional athlete has ever had.  A week after blowing a 3-shot lead on the final hole at San Diego, he came from way back for his first PGA Tour victory in Phoenix.  (That’s for all of you who either missed it or don’t care, which, come to think of it, is nearly all of you.)

And continuing my golf-centric ways, the best line of Super Bowl  weekend was uttered by The Golf Channel’s David Feherty on his Super Bowl special, “Feherty Live.”   Feherty to guest Tim Tebow:  “I don’t go to church.  I don’t like being around sinners.”

Brilliant!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People, Sports, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Greatest Game Ever Played

  1. Steve L says:

    I looked at the title and I said “He finally broke 80”.

Leave a Reply

