1952

The Today show turns 60 today.  So will I, later this year.

The Today show stays young because of its revolving cast of hosts, co-hosts, and sidekicks.

I stay young because I’m married to a woman who thinks young, a steady coterie of forward-looking people, and a revolving cast of co-workers who forbid my getting old on them.

Earlier this week, the Today show offered this piece on life in 1952, the year we were born.  Obviously, I think 1952 was a very good year.

But 2012 will be better.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

1952, posted with vodpod
About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1952

  1. Rick B says:

    I’m completely with you on this one Ger!

  2. jim milliard says:

    Where’s J Fred Muggs??

    • Li'l Em-Kel says:

      About five years ago in a mall parking lot in Tampa I saw a guy get out of a Cadillac bearing the license plate JFMUGGS. I stopped him and asked, “Say, that’s not J FRED Muggs is it?” He said yes it was and that he was J Fred’s owner. He told me J Fred was still alive and had lived in his house with his family until recently. The guy could no longer care for him, so Fred was sent to a care facility in Ocala (or Orlando – somewhere around there).

      I had a long chat with the guy, who was very interesting. I checked him out on the web. His name is Roy Waldron and he was telling the truth. I was totally astonished that that the chimp was still with us. I also confirmed the rumors that Dave Garroway absolutely LOATHED Fred.

      And that’s where J Fred Muggs is. Or at least was five years ago.

    • Gerry says:

      Jim, go to the Today show website. There are all kinds of great anniversary videos, including J. Fred.
      http://today.msnbc.msn.com/

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    60 years old? You?!

    Well, from a golfer’s point of view there’s good new and bad news.

    The good news is, you’re two-thirds of the way to shooting your age.

    The bad news is, you’re likely to stay that way for the rest of your life.

  4. Cat says:

    Yesterday was my big day… : (
    I refuse to to have anymore B-Days,,
    1952 was a fantastic year indeed. Oh how I wish times could be like that again.
    As I got older, I loved my 57 Chevy. Driving up and down the Berlin Turnpike, probably 50 something times at night…..
    Well, there are always memories….. : )

  5. Steve L says:

    I am only a few months behind you in hitting that decade marker, but during my journey, I have followed Jimmy Buffett’s philosophy of “growing older but not up”. You seem to me that you’ve sung that line a few times over the years.

  6. Bob's Box says:

    But here is a bit of irony, Ger. 30 didn’t come on the air until the next year 1963…that’s right NBC CT hits 60 next year. So people had to if they didn’t get channel 4 in New York which was then called WNBT (now WNBC) or Boston’s WBZ-TV, had to rely on channel 6 (WNHC nee WTNH 8) which had all the networks at the time (ABC, CBS, NBC and DuMont).

Leave a Reply

