A Penny for My Thoughts

Ran some errands today.  When I got home, I dug into my pocket, grabbed the change, and, as always, was about to throw it in what we used to call the “penny jar” (since expanded to nickels and dimes).

But something caught my eye.  Four shiny pennies.  And for some reason, I flashed back to one of my uncles, who, whenever he saw me, would say, “Hey boy, I have a bright shiny penny for you.”  (For some reason, many older relatives called me “Boy.”  I’m sure they knew my name.  Well, pretty sure.)

For the first time in years, I examined one of those bright shiny pennies, and discovered the penny had changed!  The Lincoln Monument was gone.

I still pick a penny up when I see one on the ground because, as you know, it brings good luck.

But when did it change?

Had the penny completely lost its value to me?

Clearly not.  Because those four pennies gave me an unforeseen moment to remember a really nice man.

Whether he knew my name or not.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Penny for My Thoughts

  1. Cat says:

    Gerry, the penny that you find on the ground, is from an angel in heaven, letting you know they are with you in spirit. ~When an Angel misses you, they toss a penny down~

    You just happened to find your’s in your pocket today. : )

  2. Joyce Hodgson says:

    I like your blog, or file, whatever you want to call your mindful ramblings! I have them too and post them on Manchesterpatch.com, maybe once a week! Have a great one Gerry! Joyce

  3. I think that back changed in 2009, when Honest Abe would’ve turned 200 years old. 🙂

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Why would you be surprised that the penny changed? The penny IS change.

    Anyway, it’s a nice memory, Gary.

  5. Rocky's Mom says:

    Okay, this made me crazy….I save change and haven’t seen this. Looked through everything lately and still had old pennies. Then I told my husband about it and he found one in his pocket. It is dated 2011. Okay, maybe I don’t feel quite so bad that I haven’t notice when it changed. If it changed in 2009 I’m starting to feel really slow.

  6. I just knew Li’l em would toss in his two cents, and it would be priceless. Nice memory, Gerry.

Leave a Reply

