A Moment in Paris

Leaving work one night this week, I heard Jay Leno joke about a study that says men spend more on gifts for their mistresses than their wives.  (As it turns out, a study of dubious academic pedigree was released a year ago.)

It brought me back several years to a visit to Paris.  My wife was in a shop.  I was smoking a cigarette just outside the door.  The shopkeeper came out for a smoke.

“Monsieur, is that your wife or your mistress?”

“My wife.  Why do you ask?”

“Too bad.  Men always spend more on their mistress than their wife.”

“Sorry.”

Just then, a gorgeous young woman strutted by in a fur, walking some kind of designer dog.

“That, Monsieur, is a mistress.”

“Very impressive.  But trust me, I couldn’t afford her.  I’ll stick with the lady inside.”

“Understood, Monsieur.”

Ironically, later that night, I found myself in a sex club.  Without my wife.

But that’s a story for another Leno monologue.

Joyeux Noël.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Travel, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Moment in Paris

  1. Steve L says:

    The last three lines of this post are definitely the most interesting.

  2. Cat says:

    In the words of Phil ” Holy Cow”………
    Somehow,as curious as I am… I will always put my money on you Gerry, to be the gentleman I think you to be.
    Otherwise, I think Kathy would have done some physical damage to that handsome face. : )
    Merry Christmas to you both & thanks for your kind words, much appreciated my friend///

Leave a Reply

