A Test

I got in a golf cart the other day to discover that the previous occupant left something behind.

An open pack of Marlboro Lights.  3 left.  And a Bic lighter.

I haven’t had a cigarette in just over four years.  Not even a puff.  I looked around to see if I was being punk’d, as the kids say.  Not a soul in sight.

Decision time.  I rarely have a desire to light up anymore.  Seldom even think about it.  But jeez…3 cigarettes, a lighter, and no one around.  How perfect.  Who would know?

I would.

I placed the pack and the lighter at the bag drop and drove off.

Whew.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Test

  1. Nora says:

    Since you quit, has the smell of cigarettes become somewhat nauseating to you? I quit almost 3 years ago when I found out I was pregnant. Unfortunately I have substituted the smokes with sugar and coffee….lots and lots of coffee. I’m grateful I quit when I did, especially when I see how much they cost now!

    • Gerry says:

      Nora, I tried to quit several times, so by the time I was finally successful (Chantix), the smell didn’t bother me. I can be around smokers without a problem, because I finally learned I can’t have “just one.” I am particularly pleased, however, when I see what they cost now.

  2. RJM says:

    I think the real test is when you are drinking… but you feel so much better the next morning without the pounding headache from smoking too much too the night
    before!

  3. You’re a much stronger person than I would have been. Congratulations, I would have smoked those bad boys and loved every second of it..I’ve tried to quit several times, and will be starting Chantix in December for another ” go around”….I have also learned that there can never be “just one”.

    • Gerry says:

      Hi Marji, thanks for checking in.
      I would have loved every second of it, too. Then I would have felt miserably guilty.
      If you need a shoulder to lean on with the Chantix, feel free to get in touch. All I can say is that it worked for me. Good luck!

  4. Ed from CT says:

    Congratulations, Gerry!
    I certainly recall your battles with the evils of tobacco.
    As you know, I never smoked- but my Dad did- and I saw how tough it was for him to kick the habit.
    You passed the test- and that is something else to be thankful for this time of year.
    All best wishes!

  5. John Szimanouskas says:

    Sounds as though you’re ready for your vacation. And you passed the “nobody’s looking” test. Great job. Enjoy your time off.
    johnszim

  6. melissa says:

    That is truly something to be proud of. Congrats on not giving in. Wish I could say the same but Double Chocolate Cheese Cake is way to good to resist.

  7. Rick B. says:

    Glad you passed for your listening pleasure instead..

  8. Cat says:

    What can we say, you’re our hero.
    I quit 20 something years ago,
    One day I just looked at that long white stick (Salem100’s) and decided I was not going to let this thing rule my life anymore.
    To this day I have never missed it and I do admit, when people walk by me who smoke, it does bother me.
    Good job Gerry!
    Hope you and the Mrs. have a nice ~Thanksgiving~

  9. Li'l Em-Creosote says:

    Good work, Gerry. The Committee planted those weeds where you would find them, and you passed the test. You now qualify for the next round in the Self-Denial Olympics, the “just one wafer thin mint” test. You’ll be notified by mail.

  10. Erin says:

    Just READING this makes me want a smoke. Haven’t in years but could start again on a dime. Now I’d I could only give up my potato chip habit.
    My hat’s off to you!

  11. SawxFan in Saybrook says:

    Gerry,
    This reminded me of watching Kirk Douglas tell the story of how his father, a strong Russian immigrant, continued to “not smoke” once he had decided to quit. According to the obviously proud son,his father carried a pack of cigarettes in his shirt pocket every day. When his father craved a cigarette, he took the pack out, looked at it and said, “Who is stronger, you..or me? I think me !” With that, he would put the pack of cigarettes back into his pocket ! Nice job, Gerry ! Hope it made your Thanksgiving a little more special to know that you still won this battle !

Leave a Reply

