Anthems of Their Times

Lee Pockriss died this week in Bridgewater, CT.  The name may escape you, but if you’re of a certain age, his musical legacy will not.

He wrote the music to “Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini.”  It was a huge hit for Brian Hyland in 1960.  The man who wrote the lyrics, Paul Vance, called the song a “money machine.”

I remember singing “Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini” in the kitchen of our little ranch house with my mother, who did not wear one.  After all, at the time the song was a hit, she had just had her third son, which she may or may not regret.  (I’m talking about having children, not wearing a bikini.)  But I digress.

Mr. Pockriss’s passing comes little more than a month after the departure of Paul Leka, who lived in Sharon, CT, not very far away from Bridgewater.

We sang his song at games when Framingham North High was en route to victory.  That song was “Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye.”  The group was called “Steam.”

You may dismiss these songs as insignificant novelties.  Maybe they are.

But to the credit and enrichment of Mr. Pockriss and Mr. Leka, we remember them.

That’s not such a bad legacy.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anthems of Their Times

  1. Cat says:

    I knew you were an oldies kind of guy, me too//// : )
    I think Teenie Weenie was more a guys song, as well as Kiss Him Goodbye,
    Come to think of it, were there any “gal songs” for missing you guys ?
    Unless you want to count Johnnie Angel or Bobbies Girl and the famous, I Only Want To Be With You ..
    Guess we didn’t worry about you guys, cause….. you know,,, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!
    I think in our day,nobodys Mom wore the bikini. 😮 jmo
    Have a great weekend Gerry……..

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    I spent twenty-five years writing copy for advertisements – print, radio, and tv. I came to realize that successful (not to say good) communications relies almost exclusively on memorability – and its cousin, repetition. These guys had it.

Leave a Reply

