Sign of the Apocalypse (Non-Storm)

I usually check to see what music Amazon has posted for its daily deal.

Today it’s The Greatest Video Game Music,” performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Really.

Sometimes I need to be reminded that there are mediums with which I am unfamiliar which may deserve attention.  This is one of those times.

But does video game music deserve my attention?

I don’t know.  Nor will I find out.  Because I don’t want to.

But the London Philharmonic Orchestra?  How about that.  They can perform Mozart and Super Mario.

Not bad.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sign of the Apocalypse (Non-Storm)

  1. Alex says:

    For the record (because I’m here), I believe the verdict on that was that it has too many of the overwrought, hyperdramatic compositions from recent blockbusters, and not enough of the iconic old chiptunes that (in theory) make videogame music unique. To be fair, I’m sure the London Philharmonic had a lot more fun playing actual orchestral music and than they would have playing something that an underpaid Japanese guy with an old Casio dreamt up in 1989.

  2. Alex says:

    Oops, extra “and”.

  3. Pete Best says:

    Is Super Mario music any worse than the ‘new’ music that is out there? Thank God for the Beatles.

Leave a Reply

