Snow So Soon?

Yeah.  Just a little.  But just a little is too much too soon.

A fabulous World Series isn’t even over yet, but there’s snow on the begonias.  And the geraniums.  And the mums.

The mums!  What a mother.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Snow So Soon?

  1. Rick B says:

    A little????? Your buddy Bob Maxon was going on about a 6-12 inch armageddon this morning. I have a bunch of rock salt left from last year. I’m going to work the parking lot at my local Home Depot today and see how much I can get for the stuff. I’m pretty confident that HD has not stocked up yet.

  2. Cat says:

    Okay Gerry…
    The storm shes a brewing,,,,
    No surprise trips to Europe now.. ha!
    I’ll be watching ~QQ~ you. 🙂

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Hey, cheer up everybody! At least you don’t have hur . . . um, never mind.

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Hey, cheer up everybody! At least you don’t have earthq . . . um, never mind.

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Hey, cheer up everybody! At least you don’t have volcanoes.

    Yet.

  6. Terry says:

    Ok Ger, get out the hankie… 74 degrees in AZ and just played some golf.

  7. Rick B says:

    I have a roof rake

    • Gerry says:

      And to think most people had never even heard of them til last year.

      • Rick B says:

        OK here’s my problem, when Irene hit we really got hammered in Eastern CT, remember those maps they kept showing anything east of the CT River might well have been the backside of the
        moon. So in advance of the storm I frantically went looking for a generator, I remembered Gloria and what a pain that was, when you live in the country no power means no water, washing, showering or eating hot food. After about 3 days it starts to get pretty ugly, you start to rationalize what the Donner Party did. Now this time I was not going to go through that again. I went to Home Depot and was lucky enough to find their last generator. I plunked down $1300.00 for the thing and went home feeling all prepared. This was one heck of a piece of equipment 8000 watts!! I could run my whole house with it including the well, furnace, all appliances and lights. Heck I probably could run Gampell on this monster. My wife an I agreed we would keep it in it’s original box and not use it until at least 24 hours had passed, if the lights came back on during that time back it would go to Home Depot for a refund, they take anything back. So 24 hours came and went, then 36. Then the stories of the black map started circulating. That was it we had to break out the beast and get it going, we would try to figure out something to do with it later to recoup at least some of our money. Seven days later the power returned. I thought I will never need this thing again. I put it on Craig’s list and turned it over for 1100 bucks. Not bad I thought it was like I rented it for a week. Now here is my new problem, this new snow storm has the potential for doing the same thing, at least according to the channel 30 weather team. I wanted to go get a new smaller and cheaper generator to play it safe but the boss has put her foot down and nixed my plans. I guess my question is how sure they are about this and would anyone want to buy a slightly used generator after this latest weather disaster passes??

      • Gerry says:

        Ryan seems pretty damned sure. Good luck. I’ll be working.

  8. daredevyl283 says:

    You know winter is too early when the stores start selling Holiday stuff.

  9. Rick B says:

    Be careful and drive safe

  10. Rocky's Mom says:

    Hi Gerry,
    This snow is way too much and way too soon. I think tht Rick would have been better off to hang on to the generator. Any “winter” that starts this early I guess will give him plenty of chance to use his generator. My daughter was without power for a week during Irene and power is down for her again now. My philosophy is better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it. Our old snowblower died right before the first 18″ snow last winter…..it didn’t matter what we were willing to pay…you couldn’t find one. Our new one was just delivered this past Thursday. I wish we had a generator too.
    That is next on my “wish list”

    • Rick B says:

      Guess what we were doing today yup no power again and no idea when it will be back on. I already have a lead on a generator This time I’m keeping it! This will also guarantee that Connecticut will not have anymore hurricanes, tropical storms, tornados, blizzards, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, tsunamis or plagues of locusts’ for at least the next 25 years!

  11. Cat says:

    Wow Gerry, was just kidding when I said I’d be watching for you,,,but there you are.. : )
    I have to say this, The mayor from New Haven is getting things done, at least he’s not waiting like the Gov. I thought maybe after the Irene mess, Malloy would have learned a few lessons,however watching him this evening, I was very wrong… The man from Northeast Utilities was correct in what he said about Malloy not allowing them to get these trees taken care of . I said that myself after the so called hurricane. He could have hired many out of work people getting these trees taken down but noooooooooo,, not him…..He waits and waits till another storm hits and once again comes out with the same malarky.. You think the mansion ever is without power during one of these storms? ha!
    Is it election time soon? : (
    Sorry if I ticked anyone off but this guy is really something else.
    You and Kesh be safe on the ride home now..

Leave a Reply

