A Novel Concept

Connecticut lawmakers passed a 626-million dollar jobs bill Wednesday.

The vote was nearly unanimous.

It’s not exactly going out on a limb to say Connecticut’s economy needs to be fixed, that we have to lower an embarrassing unemployment rate of 8.9%.

But it’s a start.

And the thought of Republicans and Democrats working together…my God…it just sets the heart a quiver.

What fun it was to say the word.

Bipartisan.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Novel Concept

  1. Gene says:

    How do we export that to D.C.?

  2. J. A. Scott says:

    Yes!!! (what Gene said) Has the quivering died down yet, Gerry?
    On a completely different note, right now I’m watching a Bob Steele documentary on CPTV. Not having been lucky enough to live in CT until 2002, I learned of Mr Steele from your blog, and am enjoying finding out more about this interesting and, dare I say, charming man.

    • Gerry says:

      Ironically, I’m about to drop a note to his son about an upcoming exhibit on Bob at the Hartford Public Library. He was a charmer, a rascal, an entertainer, and a world class broadcaster.

  3. I was about a month into my career as a Hartford ad agency copywriter. Circa 1982. I wrote a radio spot that got approved by our client, A bank.. Our offices were on the 18th floor of The Gold Building on Main Street. The WTIC studios were one floor above us.

    I rermember making that long,one floor trip up to those studios. My assignment: Have Bob Steele read my script.

    He did it in one take. Which relieved me no end. Who was I, a rookie ad man, to tell Bob Steele to do it again?

    I read radio scripts now. Robin Hood Radio, the nations’s smallest and newest National Public radio station. I recorded another one two days ago. I did it in one take.

    I was thinking of Bob Steele

Leave a Reply

