My Tree

It’s a maple.  Planted 2003.

It has grown quite nicely, with a good shape to it.  I like looking at it.

But I feel cheated.  As foliage season rolls through, the color is off this year.  It’s dull, dappled, dour even.

In a year we’ve had record snow, tornadoes, incessant rain, and a tropical storm, we can’t even get decent foliage.

Damn.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Noticed, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Tree

  1. God says:

    Foliage? Who cares?

  2. At least you still have the pleasure of cleaning up after all those leaves fall.

  3. Wendy says:

    Agreed, Gerry. Dull as ditch water this year…Guess I’ll add it to my list of “Wait till next year” things. As for the above…very cold…brrrrrr!

  4. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    The tree does have a beautiful shape to it, it is a shame about the foliage, but still very nice to look at I’m sure.

  5. Beckie says:

    It’s probably because of too much rain. I’m sure Brad or Ryan can confirm and/or expound on that theory. If it makes you feel any better, our red maple isn’t even that fiery red it usually is.
    On the flip side, my great-grandmother had a tree planted the year my cousin was born (’76) so he would have a shady place to play as he grew up. It had to be taken down in Sept. due to disease. It was a hard rock maple and had the most glorious folliage every year. It was sad when it was taken down, but at the time of year that spot looks depressingly bare.

    • Gerry says:

      Bummer of a season. Hate to see a nice tree have to go. I’d like to see how this tree turns out years from now. Of course, I’d have to live to 110 or so.

      • Cat says:

        Do it Ger, I dare you.. : )
        There is a section of Rt 9 heading south,where its a steep drive downwards, its almost like you are driving through a kaleidoscope tunnel of colors, like one of those toy thingys we had as kids. Its really beautiful and such a strange feeling,,, I swear, no drugs are involved.. ha!,, really………
        Have a good weekend now.

      • Gerry says:

        I’ll have what you’re having. 😉

  6. Kathryn Middleton says:

    Gerry, we have five Cleveland Pear tress in our yard that still have dark, glossy emerald green leaves, (first to come out in the spring, last to lose leaves in the fall) but I do not like their shapes! Meant for privacy, they are tall and lean and look more like the shape of abraviates (sp?)…I like your maple better – beautiful shape! If you would like color, plant purple pear tress – You will have deep wine colored trees against the greens of spring, summer and fall as well! 🙂

  7. Steve L says:

    Even the extraordinary view from the 6th fairway at Tower Ridge today was disappointing from lack of color.

  8. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Cheer up, Ger. The tree I planted in my back yard in Connecticut was, even after ten years, roundly ridiculed by neighbors as a “four-leaf maple.” The thing wouldn’t even die.

Leave a Reply

