The Need to Go

I love to travel.  (Actually, the being there is much more fun than the getting there.  Travel itself is not as much fun as it used to be.)

I bring this up because of our discussion in the previous post about the picture at the top of the blog.  (Thanks for the comments.)

And because, when I was channel surfing late the other night, I came across Anthony Bourdain’s show “No Reservations,” and knew within two seconds he was in Cusco, Peru.  (Kind of a travel version of “Name That Tune.”)  I knew exactly where he was standing.  And it tickled me that I did.  I stood there last year.

Cusco, Peru

I am incredibly lucky that my wife’s job (flight attendant) has a wonderful benefit that helps us see the world.  It’s not just about the places we go, the places we stay.  It’s about the people we meet.

When I think about Portugal, I think about how lucky we are to have met Diogo and Jonna, who took us into their home and  made us part of their extended family.  There are Mark and Lisa near London,  Lorimer and Carol in Scotland, Gilberto and his family in Rome.  And Bill and Ron in Atlanta.  We met them on a cruise, and we are now lifetime friends.

Our travels also help us understand this shrinking world a little bit better.  To get a perspective from people whose lives are different than ours in some ways, and incredibly alike in others.  I find their perspectives are more global, ours more provincial.  I always learn something.

And I get to come home to Connecticut.  (Known around the world as “Where is that?”  Answer: “Between Boston and New York.”

And what of the recent travel experience I failed to blog about?  I had a dull headache most of the time I was away.  I even gave it a name.

Irene.

(To be continued…)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Need to Go

  1. Beckie says:

    And we love traveling vicariously thru your travels. My husband and I traveled a lot before the little one arrived. Two things have delayed our travels….money, of course, and diapers. (I refuse to pack a whole suitcase of Huggies and pay $25 for the privilege. Nevermind trying to change a diaper in an airport restroom, a plane rest room or some of the restrooms I’ve seen in other countries.)
    Instead, we’ve visited places closer to home and family friendly (Senor Frog’s is NOT appropriate for a preschooler) and have found and done things we wouldn’t have done pre-child. Diapers are disappearing (albeit slowly) so hopefully, we’ll be able to travel a little further soon.
    Still miss those big travels though.

  2. Cat says:

    Yep, thats the biggy you missed and I felt so bad for Ms. Grant and Lisa. Seemed like they were there 24/7.
    At the time I didn’t know where you were off to, except somewhere in Europe and I thought, ahhh, must be somewhere warm and sunny, as we sat here drenched : (
    Thus my “MIA Journalist” remark, As I look at this picture, I find myself wondering how no one was tempted to go wading in this beautiful fountain, I would just have to it a go.

Leave a Reply

