Fair Weather Charlie

Connecticut lost one of its good guys on Sunday.  Charlie Bagley died

“Fair Weather Charlie.”  What a great nickname. 

Charlie did the weather on Channels 3 and 30, and on WTIC radio for 24 years. 

I think Charlie was endlessly amused by the fact that he was on radio and television, and with that in mind, brought a “What, me worry?” attitude to his presentation.

Circa...oh...let's say early 80s.

He reminded me of an overgrown leprechaun with a Boston accent.  And he distributed his pot o’ gold wherever he went.

I did the morning news with Charlie in 1981.  I hated, hated, hated getting up at 4 in the morning.  But Charlie could could cheer the grump right out of you. 

Those were the days before computer weather graphics.  Charlie would saunter in the studio, throw the magnetic sun and cloud symbols in front of me, and I would toss them onto the map.  Wherever they stuck, they stayed.  Charlie just worked his way around them. 

What a good guy he was.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Media, News, Noticed, People, Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fair Weather Charlie

  1. Gene says:

    Charlie was always happy. Fond memories of him.
    Who’s the guy in that picture with him…Tom Selleck?

  2. Thomas says:

    From the obit: “Charlie set a great example to all of us in the loving, giving way he lived his life so to honor his memory the family asks that you also offer some unsolicited random acts of kindness. ”

    Nice guy, nice family. He will be missed.

  3. Deb says:

    We’re in your corner, Charlie. God Bless!

  4. Buddy Potts says:

    Great memories Gerry. Charlie helped me get started as a weather observer. I had wanted to set up a station for years but had no idea where to get weather equipment. This was long before the Internet. Charlie was doing a Q&A on WTIC radio, and I called in. He could not have been more helpful, and I was on my way. Later I got to meet him and he was just as nice in person. From there I got to go to Mt. Washington with Hilton Kaderli and had my 15 minutes of fame. Thank you Charlie for understanding my love of weather. You will be missed.

    • Gerry says:

      Hey Buddy! I remember. And thanks for writing.

      • Buddy Potts says:

        My pleasure Gerry. We were both a lot younger in those days! Connecticut has been blessed with some great media personalities over the years. I am glad you are well and continue to keep us informed. Go Red Sox!

  5. laurie says:

    I was sorry to here of Charlie passing he was one of a kind I allways loved his voice

  6. Linda says:

    Yes, I remember him as a very happy-go-lucky weather guy–but I also remember him sitting at the counter of the Windsor Donut Shop–being his smile and cheer to the staff and customers alike.

  7. Diane Var says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I had no idea he passed. I’ll never forget watching/hearing his forecasts. He was a great guy.

  8. RJM says:

    I will miss him driving down the road either to the JMH or somewhere will his granddaughter. It was great seeing his smiling face around town. His license’s plate was “FAIR..” can’t think of the rest right now, old age.

  9. sumodo1 says:

    Sue Morris (ex-WTIC) here. When I got married, Charlie issued me a “Fair Weather Guarantee.” It worked! And, everybody said it was all Charlie’s doing! I loved him and he was one of those great broadcasters who loved those he worked with. Charlie, I’ll see you again someday and we’ll have a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

