The Vagaries of Golf

I nearly broke 80 on Saturday.  I never have, and I didn’t, but I will.

It seems to me that if you play really well on a course on Saturday, it’s not a good idea to play the same course on Sunday.  It kills the thought process.

“I hit a great shot here yesterday, so I’ve got to hit a great one today.”

Rarely happens.  And if it did, what would be the sense of playing?  Every day is different, every round is different.  Otherwise, life (to borrow the title of Dan Jenkins’ book) would be “dead solid perfect.”

We golfers can be a strange lot.  We’ll buy a lot of “stuff” guaranteed to improve our scores.  But Callaway has taken this concept one step further.  It’s selling a product to help us see our scores.

$39.99? REALLY???

Yes, the “Callaway Scorecard Reader Glasses,” described as follows:

The Callaway Golf scorecard reader glasses are small enough to fit in your bag and are designed to read that small print on your scorecard.

And they cost only $39.99!!!

I have a similar pair in my bag.  Three for $10 at Ocean State Job Lot.

A lot of us golfers may be crazy.  But we’re not stupid.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, Noticed, Sports, Toys and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Vagaries of Golf

  1. Beckie says:

    $10? I got my husband a pair of folding readers at Ocean State for like $3. He loves them!

  2. JH says:

    But Ger, the Callaway glasses transform a 6 into a 4. Easily worth forty bucks at our level. For $80.00 you can break par! Miss ya buddy!

  3. Bill Nealon says:

    Surely you have a pair of Azinger Bionic Gloves?

  4. Steve L says:

    Seems to me, as I have been following your quest for the elusive 79, that you play your best golf later in the season. This way the golf gods let you get close and then dump a foot of snow on the ground and make you wait to Spring to start over. Wicked game!

  5. clearlysue says:

    Congrats on what must have been a great round! It’ll happen, I’m sure… but what torture getting there! Missed seeing you this summer – maybe next year – I’ll tell Greg to “book it, Danno!”

Leave a Reply

