Captive Audience

Driving home after work Thursday night, it was one of those commutes.

Construction on New Britain Avenue in West Hartford, right around the corner from NBC Connecticut World Headquarters, followed a nice traffic-paralyzing accident on I-84.  Whoopee.

I was punching buttons on my radio when I heard it.  A deep voice, a serious delivery.  A commercial for BailCo Bail Bonds.  I’d never heard it before.

My first thought was, “Good heavens, what a very specific, very narrow target audience this commercial has.”

By then, it was just after midnight.  I listened intently to that deep, serious voice, the mark of an effective commercial.  How effective?  I considered committing a crime (petty, of course) just so BailCo could come to my rescue.

That’s what a good commercial can do.  And that’s what a long backup on I-84 at midnight can do.

Should have taken the long way home.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Captive Audience

  1. hendu says:

    What no Red Sox game…..oh yeah, that’s right. My bad. Maybe the Celts soon……oh crap oops. I guess I’ll stop now.

  2. Okay, this is a niche business that does some pretty darn good marketing. Not only do they have a great radio commercial (haven’t heard it myself, but I take your word for it) … but I LOVE that logo!

  3. Wendy says:

    That’s right, the Celtics….hope springs eternal as they say. 🙂

  4. hendu says:

    I can tell “they” is not the NBA

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Being a burnt-out, broken-down old copywriter, I’d be interested in the content of this spot.

    I would have trouble writing 30 or 60 seconds of copy, but maybe I could finish it with:

    “If you need us at all, you need us BAD!”

  6. I’ve heard the commercial and it is good, indeed. I was thinking they must have invested in it more that the average commercial, surely more than Good Old Tom’s and Crazy Bruce, both these still amaze me…
    I’ve also seen a car with a huge car wrap type of sticker advertising BailCo and thought that was pretty cool.
    Smart marketing works!

Leave a Reply

