Amped and Apped

It’s almost time to bid the world as we know it adieu for a couple of weeks.

But in this digital world, that is nearly impossible.  On our past travels, I would hunt down an International Herald Tribune, hoping to get a three-day old Red Sox score.  We would buy a stack of post cards, find a café, and sit and scribble furiously to let family and friends know what a wonderful time we were having.  (And hope the post cards beat us home.)

Now, I have our mini-laptop packed (haven’t got an iPad yet), so I can follow a ballgame pitch-by-pitch if I want (which I won’t).  And my digital camera is charged and ready to send back post card-quality pictures in the blink of an eye, to let family and friends know what a wonderful time we’re having (which we will).

The key digital player on this trip, though, will be my iPod Touch.  In half the space once reserved for a pack of cigarettes, I can take pictures and video (though I still prefer my digital camera).  I can listen to my music (though I’d rather listen to the sounds of new places). 

If there is wireless, I can receive and send email, and I can tweet and blog (which I may or may not do when there’s a break in the action).

And I have armed it with apps.   I have, among others, an easy-to-use currency converter, an audio phrase translator, guides of the areas we’ll be touring, and walking tours of the cities and towns we’ll be visiting.  Better yet, none need wireless to function.

Do I miss the days when I had to hunt down a copy of the IHT, and otherwise feel out of touch?  I do.  But the world has changed.

These little digital devices have made it so much smaller.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Amped and Apped

  1. Bruce says:

    Gerry enjoy your trip. Be safe.

  2. Safe- and fun- trip, Gerry!
    In case you miss your IHT…Not sure if this works on the iPod Touch but The Pulse, which I have on my iPad, is an excellent free app for all kinds of news- and it has a great, easy to use layout.

  3. Gerry says:

    Thank you both!

  4. Johnszim says:

    Hope you have a fantastic trip, Gerry. The Sox will still be here when you return.

  5. Ted M. says:

    Don’t worry Gerry, the IHT has a good website. But I’m not sure about an app.

    Safe travels.

  6. Kathryn D. says:

    I hope you have a wonderful time! 🙂

  7. Cat says:

    Safe, Fun, Time!
    You shall be missed……..

  8. Bill says:

    I follow Red Sox pitch-by-pitch on mlb.com on my Blackberry when I’m away or not near a radio or TV. I still prefer listening to Joe and Dave. 🙂

Leave a Reply

