Jury Duty

Random thoughts along the way…

I forgot how grateful I am I’m not a morning commuter.

There are more people here with last names that begin A-L than M-Z.  Damn.

The juror instructions say you can watch anything on TV but the news.  May file discrimination lawsuit while I’m here.

Now wondering why I’m sitting on wood bench instead of padded chair.  Could be a long day.

Orientation.  Judge says no blogging if picked for case.  Sorry…

Woman reads long list of rules, including how to get out of serving.  I think 65% of people just left.

About to be shown a movie.  Hope it’s “Cowboys vs. Aliens.”

It’s a French film called “The Voir Dire.”  Oh, it’s not French.  It’s judges telling us everything we’ve already been told.  Some are disproving my theory you can teach anyone how to read a teleprompter.

I am astounded at people who can talk on their cell phones as if they’re the only ones in the room.  I want to hurt them.  Or, more accurately, their phones.

I don’t think my phone’s battery will last. 

Later…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jury Duty

  1. Gene says:

    I have received “selection” letters several times, but when I called (as instructed) the night before they always said nevermind.

  2. Cat says:

    I can’t believe this.. I got my letter 11 days ago telling me to report sometime in Sept in New Haven of all places… What did they say on the news this evening ,,26th murder this year there? Oh joy…..
    Funny, they are telling you of all people not to watch the news..
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you Gerry,, I don’t think they will keep you…didn’t mean that in a negative way.. you know what I mean…
    Too bad we couldn’t have been called at the same time…would have been quite an experience!
    You know me,,, lol lol,,,,,,

Leave a Reply

