Free At Last!

I have completed my civic duty.  I have served as a potential juror.

The key word is, of course, potential. 

What I did was sit on my butt for 7+ hours and finish my book.  I also got to meet some nice people who spent the day sitting on their butts too.

The question I was asked most often was, “Can you sit on a jury?”

Yes.  Yes, I can.

But(t) I did not.  Even so, I’ve fulfilled my obligation for the next three years.

Sometimes the system works in strange ways.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Free At Last!

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    I hope you can now go and enjoy several hours on the “links”. The weather is a perfect “10”

  2. Very nice of them to let you out on parole for good behavior, Gerry.
    Oh- that isn’t what you meant?

  3. I’ve always wanted to do jury duty and I’ve only been summoned once. Here in Fairfield County one does not even show up in court, but instead calls a number in the morning and is informed whether they are, in fact, needed. Unfortunately for me, I was not. That’s it. My husband, Jim, on the other hand was summoned in Hartford County where he scored a triple; ee served on a civil, a criminal and a grand jury. Tell the truth, Gerry, don’t you think it would have been fun to actually hear a case?

  4. Sue Bailey says:

    You did get off easy. I served as the foreperson on a murder trial. One of the most wrenching experiences of my life. Valuable, but wrenching.

Leave a Reply

