Get One. Get It?

I visited one of my closest friends today.  He’s in the hospital, recovering from cancer surgery.  It went well.  He’ll live.  We’ll be on the first tee again in weeks.

His colon cancer was caught just in time. 

BECAUSE HE HAD A COLONOSCOPY.

It was his first, twenty or so years after he should have had his first.  But timing is everything, and this will have a happy ending.

Because of an unfortunate family history, in this case, I practice what I preach.

If you are of a certain age, and have never had a colonoscopy, get one.

There are no excuses.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Get One. Get It?

  1. Steve says:

    I am happy for your friend and thanks for the reminder.

  2. NancyB says:

    I had my first one last month – only one year late. I now badger anyone who is past their “due date” for getting it done. The hardest part was not eating for 24 hours prior. Everything else was easy peasy.

  3. Graham says:

    And for those who are putting it off, they are not nearly as bad as you think. Do it now!

  4. Gerry G. says:

    So true! I’d been putting it off and finally did it last week. The doctors took care of a lurking situation before it got to your friend’s case. I’m a believer now!!

  5. Joan says:

    My sister didn’t have her first one at the “scheduled” time (after you turn 50) and when she did have it, cancer was found. Thank God it was only stage 1! She had the surgery and is doing fine. DON’T PUT IT OFF! You just never know.

  6. Gerry says:

    Thank you for your comments. Nag your friends and family members!

  7. Gene says:

    Had my second one last week. Doc says I’m good for another 50,000 miles. I didn’t mind not eating as much as I did drinking a gallon of the “prep” solution. Both times the anesthetic had me sleeping through the whole procedure.

  8. Bill says:

    If you’re concerned about pain, there was none for me. Here is a stat my oncologist once told me, you risk having colon cancer at an age 10 years younger than your parent had it.

  9. James says:

    Gerry – Like you I have an unfortunate family history with this. Colon cancer IS preventable! Get the colonoscopy and break the chain. The good news is that the prep solution is not as unpalatable as it was 10 years ago.

  10. My family, luckily, has no colon cancer history although my sister and first cousin lost their lives to that insipid disease. I had a colonoscopy in my late 40s and a second seven years later. Everyone, it’s painless! You have to “prep” yourself with a fluid that causes “bathroom activity” but that allows the doctor a free and clear look at the curved path he/she must inspect. YOU WON’T KNOW because before the procedure, the doctor will give you something to make you temporarily go to sleep. They gave me the same sedative the Michael Jackson’s doctor misused. It DOES look like milk but three seconds later, I was asleep for 15 minutes (or so I’m told) and I felt great upon awakening. I’m not saying that’s what they use for everyone but for me, it worked. So don’t shy away from a colonoscopy. It might cost you your life if you do. Thanks Gerry.

  11. Joanne Hoerrner says:

    Jerry, I am glad your friend will be ok. I was 43 with no family history or symptoms besides total blockage. I was diagnosed in Nov 2007. I’ve had surgery, chemo, radiation and am still Kickin Ass’s ass today!!! I was told my tumor of 5cm’s had probably been in me for many years. I am so happy to see much more awareness than years past. I hope people take this seriously. I know many people in their 20’s, 30’s, and 40’s who have fallen victim to this cancer killer. Me, my leash is short, every 4 months for bloodwork and Oncology check, annual scans, etc. But knock wood I am feeling good and happy to have a wonderful medical team. I encourage everyone over 50 to have a colonoscopy. If you are under 50 and have any change in bowel habits, get checked out, it could save your life as it did mine!!

  12. Paul Sagi says:

    Here’s some info re Tagamet (Cimetidine) that might be of interest to people with colon cancer:

    http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S014067368890743X

    http://www.nature.com/bjc/journal/v86/n2/full/6600097a.html

Leave a Reply

