Brand Loyalty. Or Not.

Change isn’t easy. 

Gillette introduced the Trac II razor blade in 1971, and almost every day that I’ve had to drag a blade across my face since then, it’s been with a Trac II blade.

But suddenly, I find myself using a Schick Quattro blade.  Specifically, the “Midnight” model.

Why?

Could it be, as Schick’s website says, the “enhanced handle design with rubber ridges for advanced control?”  Or because “the sleek all-black look is a perfect reminder that nighttime is the most active time for the Power of 4®?”  Or because it has “four precisely synchronized blades with patented blade coating for a smoother you?”

Hell no.

Is it because Schick’s manufacturing headquarters has been in Milford since 1961?

Nice, but no.

I switched because it was free

The razor came in a goody bag at a golf tournament.  I ran out of Trac IIs, and there it was, in the drawer, sitting there in all its Midnight glory at 2 p.m.  And it was a pretty good shave.

Brand loyalty abandoned in the blink of an eye.

I have a couple more golf fundraisers still on the calendar.

So whatcha got, Gillette?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brand Loyalty. Or Not.

  1. Josh says:

    Go Vintage. I shave with an early 70s Gillette Slim Adjustable (aka the Black Beauty), but also have two Super Speeds from the 50s and 60s. I really want a Gillette Fat Boy…

  2. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    There are many pleasant aspects to retirement living, but the greatest by far is not having to shave every day.

  3. Kevin says:

    too funny, I switched to the Hydro for the very same reasons, got a ton of promo samples during the launch, it’s a great shave.
    I was a Trac 2 user for years but Gillette pulled a Microsoft on the me, they only sell the blades and not the actual razor anymore. I guess they want to force the happy customer to migrate and upgrade to the latest and greatest new shaving system.
    I read an article maybe a year or so ago, about how there are a bunch of paranoid razor hoarders out there who buy out Trac 2 and other vintage shaving system stock for the fear them not being available in the near future.

  4. Crusader says:

    http://thechap.net/ Gerry-You may like the webpage from England for sartorial splendor & good grooming tips.

  5. Jim flynn says:

    I bet Kathy is just glad you shave.

Leave a Reply

