Bridges, Streets and Statues

It’s nice to honor worthies after they’re gone, and it’s even nicer to let them know how appreciated they are while they’re still with us.

The late mayor of Hartford, Mike Peters, will have his name attached to a bridge that connects Riverfront Plaza and the Connecticut Science Center with the Connecticut Convention Center.  It will be dedicated July 26th.

I can see Mayor Mike standing there, beer in one hand, butt in the other, saying, “Who, me?  Get outta here.”  Of course, absent the booze and the butts, Mike might still be with us.

There is a committee working to rename Hartford’s Grove St. for WTIC radio legend Bob Steele.  (I’m on that committee, but in name only.  The heavy lifting is being done by a man named Chris Fortier.) 

Bob was, quite simply, an institution.  Generations grew up listening to him, and generations of morning radio competitors (including me) were crushed by him.  He wasn’t the last of his kind.  He was the only one of his kind.  And he was very kind to a young broadcaster with a lot of hair and a fu manchu.

And with continued good health, Bill Russell will live to see his statue unveiled in Boston.  This is long overdue.  Bill Russell was more than the greatest winner in basketball history.  He was a pivotal figure in the civil rights movement, and remains a living symbol of dignity.  His statue will be at City Hall Plaza.

I was fortunate enough to know Mayor Mike and Bob Steele.  I would love to spend an evening talking to Bill Russell.  Or just listening to him.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bridges, Streets and Statues

  1. G.M.Duclos says:

    Had to listen to TIC & Bob Steele in the AM. He had what my father called TNT. Time, News, & Temperature. Growing up working construction in the area, these were important things to know on the way to work. Plus, it was his truck, don’t think it ever played any other station.

  2. tbone says:

    I think a Gerry Brooks statue should also be erected…

  3. Mary says:

    Only you would come up with buttah. We could display you at the Big E.

  4. Jim says:

    Marching around the breakfast table with my father to the Col.Bogey March,Stars and Stripes and Polka time made my memories of Bob and my father unforgettable.I wish that Pop was still around to relish his Celts and the MAN,Bill Russell.I’d come home at night and he’d be in his rocker with his ear to his radio listening to the games.

  5. Bill says:

    Twice I’ve heard Red Sox announcer Joe Castiglione say there should be a statue for Carl Yastrzemski. I agree.

Leave a Reply

