Smartphone? Not So Much.

My smartphone has been going to China on a regular basis lately.

I will turn it on, and the time will be 12 hours ahead, and the weather will be for Beijing.  Interesting, I suppose, but I don’t need the weather in Beijing.  Nor do I particularly care.  Eventually, it comes home.

I went to the phone store to find out what it would take to keep my phone from taking these excursions.  They smiled nicely and told me they didn’t know.

So I went to another phone store, put my name on the “service” list, and waited for help.  After a half-hour, I left.  I guess it’s just not that important that my phone goes to China.

Though it would be nice if it brought back leftovers every now and then.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, Toys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Smartphone? Not So Much.

  1. Doug Hardy says:

    customer non-service

  2. Maybe it’s actually Brad’s phone…?

  3. Mary says:

    You’re a funny guy Gerry, thinking you’d get customer service, you’re lucky you get phone service. Next bill you’ll be charged roaming fees. Can’t live with them or without them.

  4. Graham says:

    Just returning to it’s Roots.

  5. Linda says:

    So sorry to hear about your customer service problems! I hope it doesn’t turn you off about your carrier. I’ve been highly recommending Verizon to everyone because I got such fantastic service at my local store in my little town. I went from an emergency only cell phone, to removing my home land line and going full cell phone service. I didn’t get a smart phone, but since I’m so not a gadget person, I still needed a lot of help getting started. After 4 visits and wonderfully, patient help from the manager, I’m all set. My local store is not in a mall, so maybe they are more geared to individual service. Perhaps you can locate a small store in your area that might have a manager that knows that customer service will keep people coming back. Good luck!

  6. Cat says:

    I heard that Verizons phones were not the best.
    Don’t shoot the messenger,please.
    I was going to switch phones and service but decided to read a few reviews first.
    Some people have been back and forth for 5 and 6 months with problem phones.
    I’ll hang on to my old Nokia a bit longer//

  7. SharBeth says:

    Have you tried calling their tech assist line from another phone? I used to work for Verizon Wireless and most of the time the tech guys on the phone would be able to walk you through things when you called from a different phone and they could have you work wonders on your phone.

    Just a thought,,, thanks for tomorrow’s night info for dinner….Chinese!

Leave a Reply

