The Glen Campbell Goodbye Tour

Sad news about the guy who had a string of hits in the 70s and hosted a popular variety show, The Glen Campbell Goodtime Hour.

He has Alzheimer’s disease.

Now 75, Campbell will hit the road for a final time in the fall to support what he says will be his last album, “Ghost on the Canvas.”  He’s telling the world he has Alzheimer’s in case, in the words of his wife, “he flubs a lyric or gets confused onstage.”

Of all his hits, my favorite is “Gentle on My Mind,” written by and performed here with the late John Hartford.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, News, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Glen Campbell Goodbye Tour

  1. SharBeth says:

    I was so sad to hear the news yesterday about Glen Campbell. I remember watching his show when I was a kid/ My heart goes out to him and his family.

    • Wendy says:

      I remember that show. Jerry Reed was on and there was a very young banjo person who was amazing. It was fun! It’s sad for Glen and his family to live with this horrible disease.

      • Gerry says:

        Wendy, that banjo player was probably John Hartford, who’s in the video. He, unfortunately, died a few years ago.

  2. Beckie says:

    Very sad. We’ve lost many good friends to Alzheimer’s. It’s a horrible disease.
    I, too, remember his tv show. My parents were huge country music fans and his music was prevelent in our house…Arizona, Witchita Lineman and later, Rhinestone Cowboy.
    My aunt met him after a concert a few years ago and said he was slurring his words then, like he’d had a stroke. I wonder if he was showing signs of the disease then.

  3. Roger Anstey says:

    The man was one of the best studio guitarists to come down the pike…not a bad vocalist either…when I was young and could sing my group played all of his hits….very danceable music…

  4. Bob says:

    A few years ago one of those groups that votes on stuff like this selected Galveston the best country song ever.
    About a soldier in Vietnam nam.
    Great lyrics…

    He had some good stuff…I meant has some good stuff…!funny how once you hear about someone being sick they get relegated to the woodpile pretty fast.

  5. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Really, there’s nothing not to like about Glen Campbell. Extremely talented, funny, likable – the whole package.

    I had always heard that he was a member of the Champs when they recorded Tequila. Any confirmations?

  6. Among many other things, Campbell was a great delivery system for Jimmy Webb written songs. Galveston, Wichita Lineman, By The Time I Get To Phoenix. All Webb tunes. Campbell was part of the soundtrack for my years stationed in Texas and South Carolina in the Nam era. I agree with Li’ em. The guy’s chock full of talent.

  7. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    I checked on the Champs connection. Glen played with them, but well after the success of Tequila.
    The Champs were a very fluid group.

    Tequila emerged decades later in Pee Wee Herman’s Big Shoe Dance.

  8. Doug Ducey says:

    The young Banjo player on the “Goodtime Hour” was named Larry McNealy.

Leave a Reply

