It Stinks

The big story from UConn is that its so-called “corpse flower” will bloom in the next couple of weeks. 

from UConn Magazine

The flower is notorious for its smell.  Hence, the name.

It’s also noteworthy because it blooms for only 36 hours or so, and not very often.  As a matter of fact, the last time it bloomed was 2007.

That’s the part of the story that froze me.  2007.  Because when I first saw the story Monday, I thought, “Again?  The damn thing just bloomed.”

2007.

Four years passed in the blink of an eye?

Now that stinks.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, It's all about me, News, Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Stinks

  1. Beckie says:

    I had the same thought….it just bloomed. Oh, my!

  2. Cat says:

    Fours years later and you still look the same.. : )
    You are right however, time is flying by.

  3. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    I have never heard of this plant before, I had a look at the link and it is huge by the picture, it reminds me of those plants you see in horror movies that open up as you pass and eat you. 🙂

  4. Terrence McCarthy says:

    That’s one ugly plant. And it smells ugly ,too? That it blooms as infrequently as people like Newt ,Sarah and Santorum run for president ain’t a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

