A Communal Effort

I like to think a good news anchor is like a good point guard.  You try to control the tempo of the game, but keep your eyes and ears open to dish to the people who can score.

That’s particularly important in breaking news situations, as was amply illustrated again Wednesday in the coverage of the Western Massachusetts tornadoes.

We are blessed with a sterling staff of professional reporters and photographers, producers and directors, and technical people who deliver under any and all conditions, day after day.  But as the the digital rules of the game continue to evolve, we are also grateful to the new generation of news gatherers.

You.

For instance, check out this stunning photo taken from the 22nd floor of the Tower Square building in Springfield.  The tornado is whipping up the Connecticut River, right next to the Memorial Bridge.

The picture was taken by my neighbor, who happens to work in Springfield.  We interviewed him live by phone, and put his pictures on the air.

So the guy I knock back a few with on weekends became my colleague, however temporarily.

News staffs have shrunk over the years.  But on days like yesterday, they’re bigger than ever, thanks to you.

Thanks for the help.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Media, News, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Communal Effort

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi Gerry,
    It’s amazing the photo’s and video you see that have been sent in to newspapers or TV, some are amazing just like your photo from your neighbor above. It would be impossible for any news service or newspaper reporter to be at the right place at the right time, it’s great that the people do send in these things. Unfortunately I have never been anywhere near the right place, even if I was I can guarantee I most likely would not have my camera. 🙂

  2. hendu says:

    Gerry Cousy? Rajon Brooks? Nice job by all yesterday.

  3. Mary says:

    Of all the photos and videos shown this one was priceless, nothing stops mother nature. Job well done by all. My thoughts and prayers go out to out northern neighbors.

  4. Deb P. says:

    Hi Gerry – do you know if there was any damage to Dakin Pioneer Valley Humane Society? I volunteer with an animal rescue in CT that uses their spay/neuter services and we had cats at their facility on Wed. that were to spayed. They are a great facility and asset to the animal rescue community as a whole. I pray they did not sustain damage and that the animals in their care are safe. My thoughts go out to the entire Springfield community.

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    Outstanding coverage. Breathtaking photos. Great job!

  6. I’m pretty sure I saw a report that that animal shelter is OK.

Leave a Reply

